You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Virtual Reality is Changing my Life as a Disabled Person.

in #life7 years ago

I've been wanting to try one of these out for a couple years now. It looks like the technology is starting to deliver. I just haven't been able to justify the expense of a computer that can drive the headset, as I probably wouldn't use it all that much (and if I did I'd feel guilty for spending too much time in VR!)

What I really need is a friend nearby with one. It's like buying a boat - a friend with a VR set is a better bet than buying one myself.

Sort:  

Yeah. I bought the Vive because my house is the "party house"......can't escape that fact after 26 years away from dads.

Do you have more than one headset so that people can play together?

I'm working on it. The 1080 or 1080ti cards are about 600, last I checked. The headsets are down to 700 recently. The chipset needs to be a little better than 2 of my PCs but I have yet another that I think will support the Vive. It is very much the same if the other player is anywhere else though......

Wow - that does add up.

If I had a friend with a party house and a VR headset, I'd want to go over and play with it - but then I'd feel like I was missing out on the party.

I'd still try it out, though!

Yeah for me the Pc was a needed tool for my art and work and as I am disabled and stuck at home it's almost a necessity to have some escape for my mental health. If I didn't need the PC first and foremost it'd be hard to justify the expense for sure.