You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LauraLemons

in #life7 years ago

The worst thing about suicide is how bloody fucking irreversible it is.

I'd just discovered Laura's work the night before her death. I loved her quirky drawings and stories so much that I read dozens of her posts. If she knew how much pleasure and enjoyment she brought to so many people, would it have made a difference? No - she was clearly in too much pain for that.

My father also killed himself before I ever got the chance to know him. Who knows what we could have meant to each other?

It flat-out sucks. It sucks that her story is over and it sucks that she suffered like she did and it sucks that there's nothing anyone can do about it now.

I'm glad she's at peace. I just wish there was another way of finding it. My thoughts are with her friends, who have left so many moving tributes of this remarkable person.

Sort:  

How funny is it that you found her right before. Well, perhaps funny isn't the right word. But I am sure it would make her laugh if she saw all the traffic on her page and love she was getting after she was gone. "Shit, my blog is doing great now that I'm dead! Figures!"

She was in blinding amounts of pain. Every single day was terrible for her. To be honest, I don't think I could have dealt with what she did on a daily basis without doing the same. :/

I am so sorry about your father. I know you've probably heard all the words from everyone you've ever told and it probably doesn't sooth that wound. I am just glad he stayed on earth long enough to give you the gift of life.

You're right. It sucks. It does. But somehow... there is comfort to be found in her being immortalized in the blockchain. For shaping so much here, and shaping her friends. For making Steemit such an amazing experience for so many other users, and bringing light to such bad things.

I hope that continues long after her departure in her honor.

You remind me of Anne Sexton's comment when she heard of Sylvia Plath’s suicide: “Good career move.”

The idea that you can be in that amount of pain for so long that you can't conceive of it ever ending, it really is a terrible thing to contemplate.

On the other hand, it's heartwarming to see that she had so much love and admiration from so many friends, and to see the way they're coming together to honor her final wishes. The best thing everyone can do in this situation is to go on, and to carry her memory. And you've all been doing a wonderful job of that.