Are YOU Tired of Winter? Do YOU Still Have Snow?

in #life6 years ago

Browsing through my collections of photos of my backyard, this one sprang into view. I decided to REFLECT one last time on this current season. Just when we think it is over, it's not. It SNOWED again yesterday. But then, it is predictable.

Greenhouse in Snow.jpg

As the FORESTS begin to receive a blanket of snow and darkness, the CRITTERS ARE SKITTLING over the landscape. The night creatures are beginning to stir. Their day is just beginning and the hunt is on for survival food. The bats grasp what insects they can and the possums are scurrying across fields in search of prey.

Where does one begin to describe the BEAUTY OF THE FOREST whether in daylight or darkness and covered by snow. Each creature has his place in the scheme of planet earth and the amazing feats of fun and survival go unnoticed by most. It is a PATCHWORK OF INDUSTRY AND CUNNING.

P1010144.JPG

Now we begin to acclimate ourselves to the classic gray sky that predominates the north western winters. It is a time of pondering and REFLECTION AND PREPARATION for the growth and activity ushered in by spring. For now, there is nothing to do but hunker down for longer nights and enjoy fireside light and conversation.

P1010127.JPG

Some of the evergreen flowers and shrubs peek through the snowy layer of winter and the perennials have died down to rest. The KOI ALSO HIBERNATE in the bottom of the pond throughout the cold winter days. This habit makes them an ideal "pet" for winter. (smile)

Spring Crocus.jpg

Although my backyard is still currently asleep for the winter, visions of spring are peeping through the snow.

For those still shoveling snow, good luck. For you lucky Steemians living in the tropics; wish I were there.

See you on the other side of this season.

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Pretty good answer for a bot.

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://hubpages.com/living/backyard-landscaping-ideas-for-a-gorgeous-retreat

That is MY blog and my own material. Perhaps I should have indicated that.

Yeah... just post on there the link back to your own work and it should all be ok

Wow, those pictures are beautiful. Here in Europe winter has probably ended with the week. But you never know and I couldn't wait for it!

Thank you Insick. I looked at your profile. Aren't we having about the same weather as you? I am also looking forward to spring. Like you, we never know.

I'll follow you and look forward to your post about "some stupid customer at the bar." lol

Well no, not really, here it is now around 10°C during the day so all the snow is long gone.

Thank you for following me. I will tell as many as I can think of as soon as I have the time for it.

Welcome to steemit! If you are ever looking for a group, actually a community, of homesteaders/gardeners/self-sufficient like-minded people, I am the moderator of a group here... also the "un"official ambassador to the group.

let me know and I can post an invite link here for you!

I would love to belong to your group. Send me the link and any instructions should I need them since I am new here. Thanks

thanks for resteeming my post
sorry I missed this one
I hope you'd post again
stay warm :)

You are welcome. I have been too busy to create my own post so thought I could at least help someone else. I enjoy your posts.

thank you
that's very kind of you