Bowing to the mob only serves to encourage it.

in #life3 years ago

You will always be disliked by someone.
No matter what you do.

So you might as well just do exactly what YOU want.


Im mobile and have nearly no Internet left. So I have no picture for you today.
But will probably try to add one later.

Have a nice weekend! :)

Sort:  

Calling mob rule "Democracy" doesn't help thing either.

I was not talking about democracy.
I havent even mentioned it?

But when youre at it already.. You can first define what you even mean with democracy :)

Sorry for the misunderstanding. I didn't mean to comment as if this were a political post.

I brought up "democracy" when you mentioned "bowing to the mob", even when you didn't use the word and were likely not even considering it. I suppose in my mind, "democracy" and "bowing to the mob" are the same. This is how I would define what I mean with "Democracy".

The title of your post sparked a thought: what many consider a righteous and just governing system (Democracy) is actually "bowing to the mob" since the minority must conform (bow) to the majority (mob). Most systems of government are not Democracies. Like the United States is not a "Democracy" but a "Representative Republic" (allegedly), where the representatives are "democratically elected".

It is true that nobody will approve of everything we do and we will always be disliked by someone, as you say. And it's very true, and not acknowledged enough, that bowing to the mob only serves to encourage it. I believe the key to life is not necessarily to bow to the majority (mob), or to do just exactly what I "want" (meaning desire), but to seek after doing what is good, despite what the majority (mob) says and despite what I "want" (desire) to do, which is usually not good. Living this way requires understanding and consistently maintaining what "good" and desiring and doing only THAT.

Thank you for your post, anything that sparks a thought is valuable to me. I hope I have explained a little better. Have a nice weekend!

Great to read that my little minimalistic post sparked a thought in you! :)

I think we head in the quite same direction. I dunno why we had a misunderstanding
Democary wasnt mentioned cuz I didnt want anyone to argue for it/ defend their worldview.. and somehow thought youd like to do exactly that. Defend "democracy".
..which is what the mob does.. :s even communistic "antifa"..

Thanks for your great reply! :)