human objects

in #life6 years ago

Humans are not objects. They are not tools. They are not an asset.

I have had some interactions lately that have caused me to feel the need to share this thought.

Let me repeat myself, because this is important. Humans are not objects to be used as tools.

In many societies throughout history and still today, many humans misrepresent themselves or others within human society.

Recently, for example, I experienced a conversation with a friend that was lusting after another. My friend stated this desire without hesitation or embarrassment. And, I started asking questions. What is this person's name. What are this person's goals? Does this person that is desired already have a significant love? My friend was unable to answer any of these questions. My friend was not even interested in the answers. My friend simply wanted a single physical interaction with this other person. My friend only saw this person as on object to be had and not a fellow human with passions, interests, and goals. I was shocked and made it clear that desiring a person in this way was wrong and could be hurtful to many people. Our actions always have consequences, good or bad, regardless of intentions.

In his book, The Good and Beautiful Life, author James Bryan Smith explains the ancient Greek word epithumia. Epithumia means to intentionally objectify another person for one's own gratification. And, I don't think this meaning is limited to sexual desires.

Sales personnel often see consumers as nothing more than the next possible sale. Rather than providing an item that will truly meet the needs of the consumer through questions and relationship building, the sales personnel offer the items that will gain them highest commissions. This is just one of many examples of epithumia in today's society.

It truly troubles me to think that so many of us do not think of one another as much more valuable than our next sale, next physical encounter, or next need fulfilled. If we as humans are unable to see the value in each other, how will we stop the wars, the violence, the hatred in our world. We will not.

Going forward, if you agree with these thoughts, please help me to spread the idea of a more valued human society. Please, try to be an example to others. I do this by trying to treat each person I meet as a new opportunity for friendship. I do not like all the people that I meet. But, I do respect their ideas and choices. For it is only them that can make their choices and compile their ideas. And, I ask and expect the same for myself.

You will notice that I have not called out any specific area of the globe in discussing this trend toward the devaluation of humans. This was intentional. This problem is global and touches every society. Many times it occurs without any one being aware. That is why it is so crucial for each of us to share and grow the idea that each of us as humans - man, woman, young, old, everyone - have intrinsic and impervious value.

Thank you for taking the time to read my thoughts. I hope to hear some of yours - even if you don't agree.

Have a great day!

Sort:  

@wordywoman - A though provoking article, that is relevant now more than ever. Resteemed.

Thank you. I honestly couldn't sleep and needed to share this with as many people as I could think of. It has really been bothering me lately how little value we place on one another.

You're welcome. Indeed it is a disturbing trend.

It is indeed a problem in society, so thank you for bringing it up.

Those of us on Steemit should be keenly aware of this, because many of us are here due to the idea of decentralization and freedom, which have their parts to play in treating everyone as an individual human being rather than a number or an object.

Yet, I'm afraid that even we can't manage to be kind or respectful when it probably matters most—disagreeing or when we feel someone is complaining about or even abusing the reward system.

Maybe one of these days. In the meantime, doing as you ask, treating everyone we come in contact with decency and respect, regardless of how we feel about them or the decisions they make, will help. It always has to start with me, doesn't it? :)

It's also interesting to note that, when we objectify others, we tend to forget that we ourselves are human.

There is an unspoken assumption that we are 'other than', better than those we objectify. As with all forms prejudice, this speaks volumes about those who practice it.

Perhaps a way of dealing with this could be finding out why those who objectify others find it necessary to do so and what it is that they are afraid of - if they could be persuaded to speak, that is.