perception of self vs true identity

in #life6 years ago

Recently, I was reminded of a concept that I think is worth sharing.

Staying true to our identity can be difficult, if we are swayed by changing perceptions.
http://www.clipartpanda.com/categories/question-mark-clip-art

Often our perception of our self changes based on who we are with. We think of our self differently when we are with a close friend than when we are with a domineering boss, for example. When we are with a good friend we don't worry about our level of intelligence or how appealing our appearance is. We have a higher sense of personal value.

Yet, often we also find ourselves in situations that leave us questioning our appearance, intelligence, value.

I often perceive myself much differently based on my surroundings. When I attended a large awards banquet last month, I questioned my choice of dress, my seating choice, my decision to be there! I was uncomfortable surrounded by so many successful, beautiful people. I questioned whether I fit in at all! But, a good friend reminded me that I was right where I belonged!

I am truly much more comfortable in less formal settings; sitting around a campfire, hanging out at the dog park, or playing games with family.

Yet, regardless of the situation, each of us is still the same person, with the same intellect and outward appearance. And, the person we are is to be highly valued!

Our identity is not changed by our situations or by those surrounding us in those situations. Our identity is rooted in our DNA.

https://www.freepik.com/free-photo/3d-render-of-a-medical-background-with-dna-strands_1126426.htm#term=dna&page=1&position=16

We may have a natural talent for athletics, mathematics, or music. We may have an internal desire to build homes, lead nations, teach or heal.

What is really important is to find our identity, nurture it and help it grow. And, guard it from the perceptions of others that may not value it. I knew a young man that loved to cook. As he considered what to do after high school, he considered becoming a chef. His father was infuriated at the idea. His father did not value what was a large part of this young man's identity. So, respecting his father's perceptions more than his own, the young man did not follow his heart. Many years have passed and the young man still enjoys cooking for his family. And, whenever he can he hosts large gatherings at his home where he cooks and bakes so many wonderful foods. It is disappointing, however, that the career path he did choose left him disabled after a horrible accident and he is no longer able to work. I wonder, today, how much different his life would have been if he had stayed true to his own identity and followed the dreams of his heart.

https://www.pexels.com/search/cooking/

So, what is in your heart? When you peel away all of the external perceptions, what is your true identity?

I know that I am a caregiver. I am always happiest when I am helping others. This is a part of my true identity. When others look down on me (or I think they are), I remind myself of my identity and my value to the people that I help.

I hope you will reflect on what is at your core identity and nurture it!

Thank you for taking the time to read my some of my thoughts. Please share with me some of yours!

Sort:  

Ortega y Gasset wrote: I am me and my circumstances.