You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Effective is Our Prison System?

in #life7 years ago

I think you said something interesting that is probably the entire root cause to this issue and that's simply "what is the role of a government in deciding appropriate punishment for morally subjective laws?" Like a guy goes to jail for more than 5 years for any quantity of marijuana is stupid and unnecessary. A prostitute sure does not need prison to get her 'back on track.' Drug addicts are hurting themselves and are already in a prison of life circumstance. The system is totally jacked up from the floor to the ceiling and I just think I made that saying up. But you know what I mean. I think there are such better ways to turn bad behaviors into a better society one-by-one and not having sentencing rules is a good start. Takes away context entirely and robs good people who broke the law an opportunity at a second chance.