Girls' talk

in #life7 years ago

My conversation with my 7-year’s old daughter was just finished. It has been a long time since our last talk.

My little girl just finished her Grade 1 this summer when she did make some progress in calculation, Chinese, communication and management. As you may know that, the study pressure in grade 1 is not very great, but great to a 7-year’s old child. Hence, summer vacation is a good time for relaxing and doing whatever she want but did not do during school time. There will be 3 weeks left before the new simester begins and lots of homework still pending to be finished.

This talk began with the question”What’s your plan to finish your homework in the following weeks?” Not a word came out from her mouth. I thought it was time that I gave her some guidance starting from reading response.

I shared my focus on her education in grade 1 and grade 2: development of effective learning habits and thinking skills.

Development of learning habits including encourage strudy interests, listen to your teachers in class, take notes, learning with others, prioritize your homework , learning from test and mistake etc.

Development of thinking skills by introducing her The Six Thinking Hats and 6 criticle thinking methods.

Like an old Chinese saying “Give a man a fish; you have fed him for today. Teach a man to fish; and you have fed him for a lifetime”, I am focusing on teaching her to fish rather than fed her a fish.

It seems that she understood my words and I believe that she will make a studying plan for the coming days. She can development the two mentioned via doing her homework.

(Being a mother of a girl and a son. Most of my time out of work are focusing on how to educate and guide them to be what she/he want to be. This is my first Steem post and thanks very much for your concern and looking forward to your continous support. Your comments/opinions are highly appreciated. Good night~)

Sort:  

原来首贴已是14天前发布的,我是来秀恩爱的。大家支持点赞。