I don't know anything anymore, but I will pretend that I do: Paradise or Death Game ~ Round 4 Entry

in #lifesfacade6 years ago (edited)

This is an entry number four. It is the last chapter of @erodedthoughts' Paradise or Death contest. You can read my first, second and third round entry, but at this point I am not even sure if it makes any more sense if you do so.


ptáci.jpg

Let's just all look in the same direction and pretend there is a meaning behind it.


Who am I? Where am I? What is happening? Who are those people? How did I get here? Does nobody have any answers?


So apparently, I was in a deep sleep. I dreamt there was an apocalypse and only me, Einstein, Jung, Thathcher, Curie, and Jesus - for some reason - survived it.

Well, as it later turned out, it was not only the six of us. There were other groups of survivors. We all followed a falling star and met. Then some guy had a speech about how we were chosen to propagate and create a new civilization or something. And then Jesus shot him. And then there was a bit of chaos. And then I woke up. Man, that was one crazy dream!

And now I wake up and I am surrounded by much weirder bunch of people than what was in my dream. I wish I could just remain sleeping. At least I could have some more interesting conversations. Wait. If dreams show our unconsciousness, how come I was surrounded by such an interesting, highly intelligent historic figures? Why did my unconsciousness create people who shaped the current face of humanity?

Wait... What humanity? Now this guy says that we are really the last ones left. But can I trust him? And why did he appear in my dream previously? That is just too weird. What is even more weird is that if what I experienced was a dream, why didn't I try some more interesting things to do with my companions? Spending weeks building shelters, trying to resurrect damaged technology and reading stories before bedtime? Seriously, what is wrong with me?


lost.jpg

Frederick McCubbin: Lost


Apparently, my new friends, the ones that surround me now, say that this is definitely not a dream. I tried asking them some interesting questions, but then I stopped, because apparently nobody gave it as much thought as I did. In loving memory of questions they could not answer, they started to call me Professor. I don't know if they can really appreciate my intelligence, or if they are mocking me.

It actually does not matter. I have accepted my role in these dynamics. So I just pretend to know more then I do and nobody can tell the difference. Not even the guy who fell from the sky knows what's going to happen. I just try to let things evolve organically and just help anyone who wants to be helped, not pushing anything onto anyone.

I can easily replicate what we had been doing with my dream companions. Building shelters, searching for food, only hunting is difficult. I know how to do it, mind you. But snapping some innocent creature's neck while you're staring in its eyes leaves you a bit less human. I much prefer fishing, or at least laying snares that kill instantly, so I don't have to watch it.


I have been thinking a lot, why were my companions who they were. I am not surprised by Jung or Einstein being in my dreams. I spent more time with them than with any of my university friends. What surprised me about them was how they turned out to behave in my dreams. That Jung would let his inner animal run free and Einstein would be the pacifist. Maybe it was the dark conscience from making it possible to create an atomic bomb.

Who am I kidding. These were just my mind's images. What about Jesus, then? Why was that guy in my dreams? And why was he the one ganging up with Jung on the space guy and shooting him? I guess that means that even the most noble parts of us have the potential of turning really, really dark. But I learned my lesson. I will keep my head down, help my fellow survivors by doing all I can, and hopefully, the future may be bright.


~ THE END ~


As you can see, I chose Professor as the character I would be. I don't know how will you percieve this piece of information, but I was actually born in 1992 and I am much younger than Gillian's Island, and it was never aired in my country. But when I was gathering information about the series, Professor really seemed like the only option for me.

When I look at my story and the choices I made throughout the progress, it was only more obvious to me. Professor is the person who would progress through the story similarly to me. If the first three episodes were a dream, Professor's brain would have enough sense to fool him into thinking it's reality. If anything ridiculous happened in that dream, it would make Professor seriously question the nature of reality and cause him to wake up. And that is exactly what happened after Jesus shot @erodedthoughts.

I hope you had fun reading my entries! I know that this one has a bit depressive vibe, but I definitely had fun writing it (~_^)
space cowboy.jpg

Sort:  

I thank you for finishing all 4 rounds. It was a pleasure reading every entry and I know I switched it up a lot but that was mainly to see who would complete the challenges. You did great and it was a very fun journey. Keep an eye out for the winners post coming soon.

Thank you for all your kind reactions to my entries! I was really happy to participate and to see all those various approaches to the topic. I have a huge respect for you for being able to interact with this community with such enthusiasm and honesty. I can't wait to read your final words about the Paradise & Death matters! :D