Paradise or Death Game ~ Round 1 Entry

in #lifesfacade6 years ago (edited)

When I found this Paradise or Death contest by @erodedthoughts, I did not hasitate for too long. I encourage you to go check it out. I'm sure the more people join, the more fun it's going to be. And the higher chance that we discover someone with similar thought processes behind their answers. Here I go:

1.) Use the tag #lifesfacade

Done ✓

2.) Pick a location that your days will end at. Anywhere in the galaxy is an option.

I choose a place in a country where I was born: mountains where I grew up. I would pick the place in a similar way as our ancestors did. Close to a source of clear water, in a nice valley suitable for potential future expansion of the settlement.

3.) Name 5 other people that you would take to the island with you. Living or dead. (No, Family is not allowed)

Albert Einstein, Carl G. Jung, Marie Curie, Margaret Thatcher... and Jesus (don't forget he was originally a carpenter)
Of course, I assume all of them would be in their twenties, having yet to achieve what they became known for in the history of our reality. I'm sure this bunch of people would be rather interesting together.

4.) Name 30 items that your group would bring and why. (5 items per person)

No other restrictions except for the word item? I just have to warn you that the terms will not be very specific. "Why" is difficult question indeed. I would say: because I believe we would need those things.

  • 1, Portable solar power generator
  • 2, Good hunting rifle (I hope I don't have to list the bullets as separate items)
  • 3, Reliable and long lasting fire starter
  • 4 -5, Two rechargeable torches
  • 6 -8, Multifunctional knives, we need at least three
  • 9, Axe
  • 10, Two-man saw
  • 11, A lot of wire
  • 12, Portable sound system with terabytes of stored music in high quality
  • 13 - 15, Wristwatch, three pieces of them
  • 16, Compass
  • 17, Scissors
  • 18, Typewriter (again, I hope I don't have to list paper and ink as separate items)
  • 19, Set of radio transmitters
  • 20, Good, large cooking pot for a fireplace
  • 21 - 25, Some durable, warm and soft sleeping bags
  • 26 - 30, I would like each of my companions to bring one item of choice

5.) Name 10 items that you would destroy and that could never be made again.

This is even more difficult than the previous one. There are no items I want to erase from existence. But if I have to choose ten no matter what, then it would be...

  • Billboard advertisement
  • Refined sugars
  • Margarine
  • National banks
  • Memes outside the internet
  • Death penalty
  • Hormonal contraceptives (most people don't realize how much those damage the human body)
  • American TV anime adaptations
  • Statues of political leaders
  • Guarded state borders

6.) Name 3 books you would bring. (On Paper, not a Kindle)

  • Illustrated Atlas of European Nature - I don't know the exact author or publisher, let's just assume it's the most comprehensive one available.
  • Scouting for Boys - I choose this one as a survival handbook.
  • The Complete Grimm's Fairytales - One needs some good stories.

7.) Name 2 foods that you'll have in abundance. (Straight food's like Apple's, not something like Pizza)

  • Eggs
  • Avocados

These are just some of of my favourite ingredients and they are full of nutrients as well. Easy choice!

8.) Write a letter in a bottle. (Hopes that there is other life) or Write your headstone (If living out in Utopia)

Dear reader,
If you have discovered this message, it seems we have not only succeeded in repopulating the Earth, but also in passing on our culture. If you are reading this letter without knowing anything about the First generation, please, go to the coordinates (X;Y) where we have stored the records of our lives, memories of the past ages, and also our hopes for the future generations.
Please, learn from the mistakes of your ancestors better than we did.
Live long and prosper!

9.) Make a post about your answers and post them and link that post to the comments section.

Will do ✓

© 2018 - @Rubencress - Licensed for Steemit use only.

Sort:  

"American TV anime adaptations" I lol'd hahaha.

I think your focus will indeed repopulate the earth, instead of my nihilism and my feeling of "We're fucked up, I'll die now", and that's something that's admirable!

The Complete Grimm's Fairytales! Wonderful choice. I think you will do well on your journey. Great choices.

Haha, thank you for the acknowledgement! I will never get tired of fairy tales. Most of the modern stories are inspired by them anyways.

That is why I thought it was a great choice. So much in this world is just repeated with a new package.