Abstractum Studio Design or how I quit the job and went into the unknown, part #2

in #lifestory6 years ago

Remember I told you that I am the Right Brain? =)
The idea to let the creativity to overflow my mind was capturing me for a long time.
The classic story - It was always not the right moment, not enough free time, no space - all those reasons most of us face when we talk about smthing we cannot afford to do. And we suppress those blasts, those ideas.

When I left full time job I received all that time that I needed to free my imagination.

To gain space meant to move so we left Paris and rented a mill of 12th century old (Knights Templar was grinding flour there, lol) in the deep countryside. This is the place where the Abstractum Studio was born. It is a small crafting atelier in France where creative ideas grow into nice and cosy things. And all of them are made by me and with my gentle hands+))

I adore testing things and trying to put into real the ideas that flood my brains.
I adore painting, so evidently I have a collection of colours I use! Wood, Metal, chalk paint, structure paint, window.. for every occasion I have my super trooper painting that I can use=)) The painting shops are a forbidden territory for me=)

FullSizeRender 4.jpg

Mmm, painting!

FullSizeRender 5.jpg

Here is the wooden box for your documents!

IMG_5348.JPG

I am crazy about paper and block-notes and all other papeterie stuff, that was why I started to print and make my own postcards and posters and plan to make personalised block-notes too!

IMG_4209.JPG

But what I love the most is my Floating Copper-edged frames! The idea emerged from the vintage brass frames, probably you have seen it, it gives the impression of floating, as the glass is transparent, so the photos are like hanging in the air.

I decided to try to make not only photos but also to add some notes, stickers inside and eventually flowers.
I liked it a lot! it took me a bit more than a month to find out the way how I can make it, was not easy at some points, had all of my finfers constantly cut, but finally the process is set up and voila!

_DSC5276.jpg

It was great to make some hand working, but I needed to sell it. It was obvious for me to turn to Etsy.com - one of the most famous platforms for creative people. To settle a boutique took several weeks - I am not really a tech girl.

You are really welcome to visit, here is the link Abstractum Studio.

Some creativity and I had a top of the site done.

лого с руками.jpg

I still needed a logo, something simple but nice. I tried several variations and stopped on this one.

Abstractum logo rose.jpg

What do you think? I believe it to be gentle and "fragile" as my copper frames are.
I learnt how to put the object on sale, prepared my frames and opened the shop. Till now I did not make any sale yet, but hope it will come soon!=)

Thanks for reading, guys, hope you liked the story. It is not a full - full version, I do not want it to be too long=))
On the road of trying to gain money with smthing I love to do, I have already passed several downs and ups, and it is true that it is not easy to work for yourself.
I learn how to manage time and above all how to manage myself.
I do not know the future and how it all will go, but at that moment I know that I am doing what I want to do. And I feel it right. I hope that with the time I will be able to put in real all those ideas that I want to do, and I will be able to share with you all those creations.

After all, if at first you did not success, try until you do. And enjoy the adventure.
Have a nice weekend all!

Sort:  

Wow, what a great discovery, I think I’m going to enjoy your blog and experimentations! From what I can see here, I’m sure you’d make great things using embroidery ; your use of colors could take new forms. I’m myself in love with colors and I try to use them in different ways, through painting, drawing, clothes and fabrics, and now through yarn but it is yet very subtle and shy, since embroidery is a pretty long process but you should definitely give it a try :) I’m following some great embroidery artists on Instagram, I’m planning to make an article about it soon.

Anyway, I’m subscribing to your blog immediately! Nice content :)

To you,

Aslal |-/\