Option 2

in #lifestyle5 years ago

tenerife.jpg

Yo! Check out Option 1 if you're wondering about the title.

The temperature outside is just about to dip under zero at the point of writing this, making "Adexit" more attractive than ever before :)

In terms of destinations, this is the second Canary Island I visited - Tenerife.

For whatever reason, I always mix up Tenerife and Lanzarote in my head, forgetting which is which, even though they're almost nothing alike. While Lanzarote is an arid, out-worldly volcanic island, Tenerife is a little more populated and built up. The volcanic origins are also not as pronounced as they are on Lanzarote - with much less prominent volcanic ash in sight.

Photography

Don't get me wrong, Lanzarote is stunning and extremely picturesque, but the best spots are not easy to get to and are hostile to human life. I wouldn't go wandering around Timanfaya by myself. Simply tripping and falling on a razor-sharp bit of volcanic rock can mean the end of one's life.

IMG_6219.jpg

.... but in Tenerife, this was just the pool area of my hotel!

Like seriously, Tenerife is truly picturesque. There are many corners of the island you can go get lost in. I particularly like the Santiago del Teide region where you can observe the incredible Acantilados de Los Gigantes.

IMG_6257.jpg

Pretty much all the coasts are awesome though. The Atlantic ocean is deep blue there when the sun hits it at the right angle. It's mostly rough with massive wave but if you get the right enclave, the sea can be calm too.

It's photographer heaven to be honest. I loved getting lost along the promenades, occasionally turning to photograph the odd ship sailing by.

Nature

Talking of ships and mountain cliffs, there is a fabled pirate refuge on top of Los Gigantes called Masca. It's also one of the many wonderful treks available on the island. I went up by taxi and bus through the towns but you can walk down the mountain through beautiful nature to sea level where you can take a boat back to your hotel / home.

IMG_5899.jpg

.....Masca itself has a silent mystery to it.

Palm trees are probably my favourite trees, and are the most useful trees on the planet. Tenerife has a lot of them, which is delightful for me.

Peace & Queit

Tenerife? Quiet?

Well, yes. If you're on the correct end of it that is. There are many holiday resorts on the island, including those geared towards ravers and young revellers. Those are not very quiet places :)

IMG_5706.jpg

.... but if you find a quiet, boring corner of the island, you're good.

My hotel was less than half full, unlike the holiday resorts. I was one of the only people using the Internet, so it was blazing fast. I mean, who goes to Tenerife to go on the Internet?

A digital nomad. That's who :)

I was trying out that life haha. I was trying then to do some travel and lifestyle related blogging and video content. It didn't really take off sadly. Steem wasn't a thing yet. Perhaps if I had waited just a year, I would have caught Steemit in the very early days and become one of the ninja whales. Oh well.



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

Both these islands are great but Lanzarote pips it for me.

Posted using Partiko iOS

All that good aloe vera :)

Wine and Volcanoes!

Posted using Partiko iOS

That "Ade the Digital Nomad" shot :D Very cool man. We all have a photo like this one in our "digitally nomadic portfolio" :)

Well, finding a peaceful and quiet spot on Tenerife has been increasingly hard but it still is possible ;) How about La Romantica? (it´s an actual name of this place just outside of Puerto de la Cruz :)

IMG_20161001_225104_544.jpg

OMG. That's stunning! Is there wifi there? haha.
I know what you mean. I guess I'd have to take a bus to quieter places now and again.

Well we shared the wifi with our neighbors (getting our own would take just too much time, energy and frustration while dealing with the maňana style of the locals :D). The apartment was great, amazing sea view, very quiet neighborhood, banana plantations right next to the house. We paid 450 EUR/month (3 years ago).

Perhaps if I had waited just a year, I would have caught Steemit in the very early days and become one of the ninja whales. Oh well.

Maybe next time! Look out for anything new on the horizon 😄

Also, good to know about the differences between the islands. I think I spent a week researching and planning and at the end, it was too much, I gave up the holiday. The choice is an evil thing to have!

The choice is an evil thing to have!

YES absolutely! If there was just one island, you'd just go and not think about it much, and you'd have fun :)

We're doing our next For91days on Tenerife ... currently on La Gomera for a week of hiking but then coming back to Tenerife and there for .. well For91days :) If you're still around, we should try to have a little meetup :)

Yes @waybeyondpadthai mentioned it to me. I'm not there at the moment, sadly. I'm looking forward to your content from there... since you'll be there for way longer than I was.

I would be willing to take that "Volcanic" risk ;)

I bet you'll be fine. You have the cycling endurance and camping skills. Me, I'm a city boy :)

How idyllic! With winter coming on, the islands look especially appealing!

I've got a hoodie on under my house coat with the heating on and a cup of tea. It's so cold haha.

I looooooooove Tenerife and their local family run restaurants where you can eat like your mom cooked for you and a glass of wine is only 1 euro <3

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hmm. Maybe I'll set up a home-cooking restaurant when I get there haha.

Did you use the timer on the camera to place yourself in the landscape photos?

The second to last photo is really awesome. I did like the pool pic, too.

I think I had a monopod, but that one was taken by another tourist.

So you set the camera up for them. Do you remember advising them as to how to correctly maintain your position in the frame? It's easy for a non-photographer to screw up the composition unless you prepare to crop aggressively if need be.

I did give instructions, but I still had to crop out a bit on the right hand side because they were too far to the right, which is why the photo is almost square.

I always select a tourist with a nice camera hanging around their neck :) . I know it doesn't mean that much but at least it shows they might have some experience.

and 91nights <3

He's going there for his next 91 days.

So is that 90 nights?

Oh my, he actually looks like you lol

LOL. IS me :D