A Few Extraordinary Ways To Use Ketchup

in #lifestyle6 years ago

Most likely the first thing that comes to mind when thinking about ketchup is hot dogs or that all too delicious hamburger and fries. But ketchup is also a way get get rid of stains and to get some cleaning done around the house.

Did you know that ketchup first started out as a fish sauce? Who would have guessed. But this very popular condiment has come a long way along with being a favorite topping for some of our favorite foods.

Help For Blondes During The Summertime

When I was younger I had blonde hair (I’m Brunette Now) and during the summertime my friends and I practically lived in the swimming pool. So when summer was winding down, the tips of my hair would turn green because of the chlorine in our pool. I always remember being teased at school on the first day because of my green hair.

So my mother used ketchup to get the green hue out of my hair. Because of the acid nature and the red sheen of the ketchup, that would help neutralize the green effect in my blonde hair. First shampoo your hair normally and than lather the hair with ketchup, let sit for about 10 to 15 minutes and then rinse. The green hue should disappear. If the green hue doesn’t fully disappear the first time, just repeat and you should have your shiny golden locks back.

Clean The Faucet Handles In Your Shower

When I was walking into our bathroom with a bottle of ketchup, I got the funniest look from my husband. I’ll never forget the look on his face, pure bewilderment. But explaining to him what I was about to do, he had this look of relief. He won’t have to put me in the looney bin just yet. Since ketchup has approximately 4% of acetic acid content, it’s an excellent way to get water spots and grime off of your shower faucets.

Slather some ketchup over the shower head, faucet and handle. Allow it to stand for approximately 10 to 15 minutes, than wipe off with a soft damp cloth. The stains should wipe clean without any added effort.

Thanks for reading,
@djbrat

Sort:  

Interesting .... I heard of pop being used for cleaner but not ketchup.

How about putting it on your KD ( Kraft Dinner ).

good post 👍

Thank you (((hugs))) ♥

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen