The journey - lifestyle, mindset, and Paleo

in #lifestyle7 years ago (edited)

I have been making positive lifestyle changes to my life and following Paleo for over five years now. Over the years the way that I have done Paleo has changed. When I first started, I was working out like a crazy women and as a result I had to eat a lot. I was having five to six small meals per day, and working out twice a day with only one rest day per week. At this stage I was looking and feeling good. I loved the results I was getting.

Fitness Portrait.jpg

Paleo is a lot different for me now. I concentrate on three main meals and very little snacking. Maybe a handful of nuts in the morning. I try to eat fairly clean and get lots of goodness in my meals. I work out most days and at a lower intensity than previous. I still feel great and am getting some awesome results.

I have also varied how I do Paleo between these times.

Paleo doesn’t have to be done a certain way and there is no ‘one size fits all’ for Paleo or any other lifestyle choice you decide to make. It’s is all about your lifestyle, and what is best suited to you.

The most important part is to learn to listen to your body and make adjustments accordingly. If something doesn’t work, stop doing it and investigate something different that could work. Then give it a go. What do you have to loose.

Over recent years, I have learnt about how our mindset and stress levels affect our general health. When I am stressed or in the wrong mindset, I definitely do not get the results I want. Cortisol tends to play havoc on me and I am a complete mess. I struggle at getting my work done, having positive relationships with those around me, and staying fit & healthy.

I was even hospitalised for a week with Vertigo during a stressful period. During this time I was under pressure to get my work done, and also stressed financially. It has taken a lot of work and learning to improve my mindset. I have a few mechanisms that help me to improve my mindset. They include mindfulness, meditation, prayer, journaling, and focusing on gratitude. These ideas might work for you too, or there might be something else out there that is aligned to how you think.

The way that we eat and manage our lifestyles is a journey. It takes time to learn how to do it. I am continually learning and being open minded to new ideas. I want to encourage you to keep going at your own journey and making the most of life wherever you can. Don’t be put off if something doesn’t work. Just try something else and keep striving for better. We don’t have to accept the way that we are now, keep looking forward at what is to come.

What we learn on this journey is truly amazing. When thinking about our health and wellness, we learn how our bodies work and our inner happiness. I now know who I am and what I want out of life. I don’t want to strive for mediocre, I want to keep striving for the best and I hope you can too.

Love & Blessings,

Nic

P.S. I love sharing my journey and encouraging others to make lifestyle choices for the better.
For more information, lifestyle motivation, or recipes please head to http://www.nicspaleotreats.com/

Sort:  

Very positive post, you won't believe me I don't know what Paleo is, lots of times I came across the word but never look into it. I am having health problems due to being diabetic. I try to make small adjustments but for me that is the most difficult thing to exercise and to eat less. Last night I really felt down just because I could not snack on anything.

Paleo is a lifestyle aligned with how we used to eat prior to agricultural practices. Basically eating Meat, Vegetables, Fruits, Nuts, and seeds and avoiding processed foods, dairy, gluten, grains, and legumes. It is also about making other positive lifestyle choices to improve our health and wellness. I love Paleo and feel so much better for it. Paleo can be beneficial for diabetics because you are cutting out a lot of sugars that are in processed foods. In terms of how changing your diet is making you feel, I would really encourage you to be grateful for what you have in your life and focusing on the good things. I hope this helps

Thank you for explaining Paleo to me. There is a lot of people here in South Africa on the Banting diet, it sounds more or less the same. And you are very right about focusing on the good things. I really appreciate your reply.

Great, inspiring post. Thanks.

Here is a quote that hold's true to me

Sometimes these big challenges and issues can seem insurmountable, but taking it one small step at the time and chipping away at it a little each time can make a huge impact before you know it!

Thanks....Love the quote!!