Steemit is NO Different from the world we live in! Why Complaining?!

in #lifestyle8 years ago

I come across many posts complaining about Steemit environment:

  • I don't get enough upvotes for my great content
  • Stupid content gets lots of money
  • Some people are impolite
  • Some are jealous
  • The voting system is unfair
  • Etc

The only concern I have with all these posts is WHY do you guys expect Steemit to be Heaven on Earth???

Isn't everything that you complain about just absolutely NORMAL in your everyday life?

  • Do all the greatest minds always earn the most?
  • Did you ever wondered why the very pretty girl from your college that you know to be the dumbest person ever is having it all?
  • Was any old lady yelling at you at the train station when you didn't at all disturb her? Or any guy in the subway pushing you roughly to get out of his way?
  • And do you actually know any 100% FAIR value distribution system in the society?

Well, then why Steemit should be different?!

All the examples from above are always the exceptions to the nice side of life (at least in my world:).

But our brains are used to focus on such exceptions.

100 people will smile and hold the door for you during the day, but you'll remember the 101st, who stepped on your feet and never excused himself.

You'll get 200 upvotes, but you'll be furious at those couple of flags in the corner.

Why do we need the whole world to love us?

I earn $15-50 on each post, and it's just GREAT!! Because some months ago before Steemit I didn't even think it was possible.

Someone is earning thousands on travel and bikini photos. And I'm totally fine with that!

Just remember that someone in this world earns millions on selling drugs.

Are some random posts on Steemit still that bad?

I'm not judging anyone, I just wanna encourage you to see the good side of everything - Steemit included!

Especially as there are definitely more good things in it than in anything else:)

Have a great day everyone!

And cheers from the sunny New York

Sort:  

Nice post, and a totally different angle/approach than the techniques I have tried to illustrate similar things. I don't know if I would ever have thought of it completely from this perspective, I may have gotten there eventually though as I could sense hints of that in my thought processes over the past few days.

Thanks for the post. Good work. Hopefully some people listen.

Good points! I just made a comment yesterday after watching a video of a guy beating himself up because he received several negative comments from previous posts. He did get positive ones as well but we humans tend to focus on the negative and the positive goes unnoticed. Thanks for sharing. Always look on the bright side . . .

Exactly! And I'm only trying to remind everyone what an amazing opportunity Steemit has provided us with! So it's better to focus on that and appreciate it

Yes, very true.

However, I guess it is easy to see it that way when you are leading and getting nice rewards. Those complaining of the status quo are rarely those that are better than the average within it, also in real life.

Generally yes, I think you're right. Though I am not the blogging leader at all, as I've mentioned, I rarely got anything more than $50 for a post. And I'm still totally OK with people getting 10, 100 or 1000 times more than I do :)

Meh. It is far from homogeneous.

The vast majority get nothing more than a few cents, so I guess you are still somewhat above the average.

You're right that there are parallels between the unfairness on Steemit and what happens "in real life".

At the same time, the reaction also parallels "real life". When people are treated unfairly, they make an issue out of it.

There are also a lot of Steemers that don't make anything when they post, and I understand the frustration they have when low quality posts, and especially spam, are raking it in. I do agree that the focus shouldn't be on getting super rich, fast, but on helping to grow the platform. When people are treated unfairly, however, they will feel less inclined to help out.

Yes, the frustration is always there. As well as in real life - when you put an effort into something, you expect to get a reward for that.

The main risk that I see with Steemit from this perspective is that it will get growth from those who don't provide the best content, but from those get the most money, which is not always the same thing... But we'll see!

My solution for now is to read by hashtags and to read from the "new", section, not the "trending" one

I wouldn't say I'd expect a reward, but I prefer rewards to be given when its deserved, regardless of who it is.

I've also started reading just the "new" section. :)

Good point, thank you for sharing. Life is never fair because "fairness", is just a construct people created to feel themselves more comfortable. To justify their failure.
There is no such thing as "fair" and "not fair".
Wild cats eat baby birds not because they are evil and try to make world unfair to baby birds. They are simply hungry and this is what they do. It's nature, it's the way world works.

Absolutely.
All the systems that tried to provide 100% fairness finally failed. Well, North Korea is still there, but I'm not sure it's the best example ...)

This is utter nonsense.

When the ruling class are not elected but chosen based on family, wealth, and other such means, those outside of that class are considered to be of less worth.

The concept of fairness allows us to ask whether the difference is justified. In such a system you would not be able to disagree with it because in your words, you have failed, not the system.

Yes, but do you know where this concept of fairness is really working?

I'm not saying this is wrong, I'm saying that this is not what we actually see in life

I was replying to @misha's comment.

EXACTLY. All of this needed to be said, so thank you!