The Old Dog is Told: “All Mushrooms Can be Eaten, But Some Only Once.”

in #lifestylelast year (edited)

Do You Like Wild Mushrooms?

I do, and they grow like crazy where I live. My problem is that I don’t eat them because I’m afraid of provoking my untimely demise!

The other day I found the mushrooms that you see here in the attached photo right on my property...**but I didn’t eat them! **There were plenty of others too believe me!

Did I make the right decision?

Actually I asked a good friend (he's a regular hunter and consumer of mushrooms) of mine if they were edible. His answer:

_**“All mushrooms can be eaten, but some only once.” **_Was that good advice? Seemed a bit cheeky to me!

Not so Fun Facts!

What Do You Say?

  • Do you eat wild mushrooms?
  • Do you pick them yourself?
  • Should I learn about them so I have a source of food?
  • Were the mushrooms in the photo edible?

Until next time,

@kus-knee** **(The Old Dog)

Sort:  

how are you dear friend @kus-knee good afternoon
what a beautiful catch. I am not a consumer of wild mushrooms, like you, I have no knowledge and I want to avoid poisoning
wise advice from your friend

You are not only a gentleman but also very wise!

I do like wild mushrooms, but only a few that I know can be eaten for so many times.
so far, I had never encountered a mushroom that can only be eaten once. : ) hahah I hope I won't find and eaten any of them.

Anyway, how are you? nice to see you back on hive and posting.
sending some !LUV

Thanks for the visit and the LUV! Much appreciated!

I'd love to know enough about mushrooms to be able to forage but I don't trust myself enough. It's all fascinating though.

You are not only a talented writer but a wise man as well. Good to see you!

Thank you, it's good to see you on here again! I don't blog as regularly but I'm still at it. Hope all is well!

I have not tried eating wild mushrooms so far, but I heard that there are people, who eat poisonous mushrooms (for example fly agaric) because of religious reasons for the hallucinogen effects of these mushrooms.

Yes I believe that back in my day we called those "magic mushrooms".

Some only once, lol! Great answer. I don't eat the wild ones for exactly that reason as well. I am terrified of picking up one that ends the grand game of life!

I'll add wise to your list of attributes!

Its a short list, it can always do with an addition :OD

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Much appreciated!

Do you eat wild mushrooms?
Do you pick them yourself?
Should I learn about them so I have a source of food?
Were the mushrooms in the photo edible?

yes; yes; yes; no. have a little hive !PIZZA, Sir.

I can see that you are an expert!

everything is relative, as they say... so yes, I am a little expert, lol 😜

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@qwerrie(1/5) tipped @kus-knee (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

We only die once.

If possible I'll try and avoid it.

Me too.

Yes! Best to film the wild ones and buy the ones to eat!