Sort:  

I am a professional gardener, but it is because I like doing the work! So work and pleasure :-)
I am not a landscape architect, I work with a small gardening company - we do garden maintenance, restorative pruning of shrubs and small trees, re-design*, consultations. and we do all the planting ourselves (I'm the youngest at 57! lol) The owner's husband is also very good at building small retaining walls. We do not do lawn service.

*Re-design is our specialty. We try to work with what people have. We will see what's good, what should go, and what should be moved. For instance, many people have left their foundation plantings get sheared to death or have let them get overgrown. We can figure out what is worth saving, what is worth scrapping, and then what to add. And then we do all the procuring and all the planting. Same with garden beds. My co-horts call me the 'shrub doctor'! I can save and shape just about any boxwood!

If a job is too big and needs a lot of earth moving, we have some landscape architects that we will refer.

Sounds like a heavenly job/ pleasurable hobby, and to be surrounded by varying degrees of nature, bliss! I too find my work and hobby lives collide, we are the lucky few! Doing what we love and being paid for it. I love the concept that you try to work with what you already have rather than just bulldozing everything away and starting afresh. I often think that we live in a "throw away" culture and have stopped thinking about the repercussions of the "buy a new one" mindset of today.