Personal Mission Statement

in #lifestyle6 years ago (edited)

Today I decided to talk about my Personal Mission Statement.

I got this idea from Stephen Covey, when I was reading 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, but I haven't actually taken the time to write it down and go through it. This is one of my biggest issues, actually applying the things that I learn.

The idea is that everyone needs a personal mission statement to guide them through life. Your mission statement should be something personal, that you desire, would make your life and the lives of those around you better. Covey says, points this in the direction of with businesses for being successful and effective, but says that it can and SHOULD be used for every situation in everyday life for the greatest outcome.

So I decided to create my own to help me stay focused and a general guide for how I want to move through life. I took a lot of this from others so it isn't entirely my own, but I think it is okay to take inspiration from others as long as I believe in them. Also when looking at them I feel they are a little bit broad and also I feel they are a bit self-centered compared to other peoples mission statements, but I understand I shouldn't compare myself to others that is kind of the entire point.

Now for the actual mission statement.

My personal mission, is to do my best at any task I decide to engage in, love my Self unconditionally, and tell the Truth at all times.

i) Do my best
I don't exactly know how to phrase this, so in the future I might end up editing this mission statement, but this first section I just want to say that I'll do my best at all situations. To be the best I can be no matter what I try to do. Regardless the task student, teacher, father, should I decide to start laying bricks, it doesn't matter as long as I do it to the best of my ability and give it my all.

ii) Love my Self unconditionally
Now this I got from reading a lot of Jung lately, and then I started watching this InPresence series with Jefferey Mishlove which I highly recommend and have been watching and meditating to daily lately. The point is to love the entirety of yourself regardless of what you do. This has been a bit of a challenge for me, and so I'm making it part of my statement to make sure I implement it.

iii) Tell the Truth
Or at least don't lie, that's a start. ;) I'm pretty good at this already, I do my best to be honest, sometimes revealing too much and I should work on that. For now though, I'm going to keep watching myself and make sure I don't lie, especially to myself who I lie the most to, perhaps the only one I lie to.

If you make it this far I thank you a lot, and would Love if you continued to follow in the future, as I continue to grow and hope you come along on the journey. :)