A peanut butter adventure | una maníaventura

in #lighthearted5 months ago

ENG

(Use gallery mode for this format 😉)

Yesterday I wrote about embracing routine... and yet I must recognize it was just an attempt to put to rest the intense desire I have to go out into the world and experience new places, people, and adventures. No matter how much I try to be a hobbit, it seems living the quiet life isn't the thing for me. There are many great things about living in the forest, and there's ton of enjoyment in going back to primitive knowledge, but seriously, this is a large and diverse world which I yearn to explore.

The idea of leaving to travel the world once again settled into my mind. I started dreaming of going from place to place, observing passively and always having a good supply of bread and peanut butter to make the show even more enjoyable. yeah, if there's something I miss from the city a lot is bread with peanut butter, a habit I acquired when living in the US as you can expect 😅

There's a lot of inner debate for me on this topic because on one hand I've become attached to all the work I have done here, and on the other I believe that we should always be doing what we want to do as long as we're not intentionally hurting anyone else. a good idea came to mind: to go and get that bread and peanut butter and just wonder around to see how it felt.

So I hitchhiked to town and got my precious drugs which I didn't hesitate in beginning to enjoy. I walked around happily stuffing my mouth with pieces of bread dipped in peanut butter, marveling at the beautiful sunny day and the massive release of dopamine that these high-sugar foods produce. I managed with massive willpower not to finish it in one sit and save some for later. I went to visit some friends and we had a lovely night jamming tunes and talking both deep and shallow things.

My friends had all beds and covers used up so I had to start my way back in the night and it can get hard to get a ride when it's dark. this time I had no luck and had to walk home which is a 3.5 hour walk if you don't stop at any moment but I had to stop several times as I would start to get sleepy. I rested in bus stops and even found a big mound of dry grass which allowed me to enjoy some comfort while gazing at the stars. finally, at 7 am I was back home, completely exhausted and took no time in falling asleep on top of the bed.

Though the walk was exhausting, it helped me to remember the value of shelter and a bed, something that is not always available when traveling. hmmm, I guess I'll enjoy the forest for a bit longer 😉


ESP

Ayer escribí sobre abrazar la rutina... y, sin embargo, debo reconocer que fue sólo un intento de poner fin al intenso deseo que tengo de salir al mundo y experimentar nuevos lugares, personas y aventuras. Por mucho que intente ser un hobbit, parece que llevar una vida tranquila no es lo mío. Vivir en el bosque tiene muchas cosas buenas, y se disfruta mucho volviendo a los conocimientos primitivos, pero en serio, este es un mundo grande y diverso que anhelo explorar.

La idea de irme a recorrer el mundo volvió a instalarse en mi mente. Empecé a soñar con ir de un lugar a otro, observando pasivamente y teniendo siempre una buena provisión de pan con mantequilla de maní para hacer aún más ameno el espectáculo. Si hay algo que echo mucho de menos de la ciudad es el pan con mantequilla de maní, un hábito que adquirí cuando vivía en EEUU como es de esperar 😅.

Hay mucho debate interno para mí sobre este tema porque por un lado me he encariñado con todo el trabajo que he hecho aquí, pero también creo que siempre debemos hacer lo que queramos mientras no estemos dañando intencionalmente a nadie más. Se me ocurrió una buena idea: ir a buscar ese pan con mantequilla de maní y simplemente dar una vuelta para ver qué se sentía.

Así que hice deo hasta la ciudad y conseguí mis preciadas drogas, que no dudé en empezar a disfrutar. Caminé feliz atiborrándome de trozos de pan untados en mantequilla de maní, maravillándome del hermoso día soleado y de la liberación masiva de dopamina que producen estos alimentos ricos en azúcar. Con mucha fuerza de voluntad, conseguí no acabármelo de una sentada y guardar un poco para más tarde. Fui a visitar a unos amigos y pasamos una bella velada improvisando canciones y hablando de cosas profundas y superficiales.

Mis amigos habían agotado todas las camas y las mantas, así que tuve que emprender el camino de vuelta por la noche y puede resultar difícil conseguir que te lleven cuando está oscuro. Esta vez no tuve suerte y tuve que volver a casa caminndo, que es una caminata de 3,5 horas si no paras en ningún momento, pero tuve que parar varias veces porque empezaba a tener sueño. Descansé en paradas de autobús e incluso encontré un gran montículo de hierba seca que me permitió disfrutar de cierta comodidad mientras contemplaba las estrellas. Por fin, a las 7 de la mañana estaba de vuelta en casa, completamente agotado y no tardé nada en quedarme dormido encima de la cama.

Aunque el paseo fue agotador, me ayudó a recordar el valor de un refugio y una cama, algo que no siempre está disponible cuando se viaja. Hmmm, supongo que disfrutaré del bosque un poco más 😉 .

Sort:  

I get itchy feet as well, to travel. I feel the world call out to me. It helps that I live in a place that sees many travellers past through. But my time will come again.
And yes peanut butter, it is a stable in our home xxxx

Yeah, that's what I tell myself as well. Would be great to be able to travel and homestead at the same time 😁