The story about the fight of a gladiator

in #literature2 years ago

Link

My name is Demophon. I am a psychic demigod and I have been waiting to fight in the Coliseum since the day I turned sixteen.

"Your next fight will last fifteen minutes. You will fight Gladius Prime. Good luck." Commander Guts, my trainer, said to me. I frowned. Gladius Prime had the scars of a veteran. Sad, since this would be his first fight.

I downed another bottle of water and waited in the mess hall. I could hear the cheers of the Coliseum crowd. Then the doors burst open and I took one look at Gladius Prime and I knew I was in trouble. He towered over me, his skin gleaming in his white armor. The crowd cheered.

"Welcome, Demophon! I am glad to fight you." Gladius Prime's voice boomed. I took the nickname. He looked like a vice-like giant. His muscles were bulky and sharp. He had a sword clutched in his hand.

"Gladius Prime, do you accept my challenge?" Commander Guts asked me.

I smiled. "Accepted! Come on, Gladius Prime! Let's do this!" I yelled with an adrenalin-filled grin. My mind was consumed with battle and I saw Gladius move around. I decided to draw first. I saw him stand up straight. I charged at him, swords swinging. Gladius was no slouch, obviously. He deflected my first swing, but I had faith. I swung again, this time all the fury I had built up since I came in. Gladius stepped back to avoid my spin attack, but I continued.

"Take that out of your system, Demophon, my boy! This is a test of skill, not of strength!" Commander Guts yelled out at me. I backed up, nodding. "Fine, then!" I yelled, causing him to laugh.

By now, my confidence had returned, and I became more careful with my attacks. Gladius stood on his guard and tried to throw my first hit off. I saw this and swung right before it. Gladius blocked with his sword and performed a spin-kick that connected with my right shoulder. I stumbled back, but I was not ready to give up. I swung my sword again, aiming for his feet, but again he blocked with his sword. It didn't seem as effective as it should be, so I decided to go over his head. I swung my sword with all the speed I had in me and cut his head off. I circled around him, seething with shock. I expected him to keep his head, so when he took it off, I thought I just got lucky.

I took a moment to admire my handiwork, and I came in for the kill. I gently touched the base of his head and brought it to the ground. I ran up and sliced through the air, and his head made a gash in the ground when it hit it. I gave a sigh of relief and smiled. I looked up to see Commander Guts give a hearty round of applause. I sauntered over to him and saluted.

"You did it, Demophon! That was one of the best fights I have seen in a while!" he exclaimed. "I'm glad. This was my first fight." I replied with a smile. "I will now step outside to look over you. I think you are ready for your next fight." he said with a breaking smile. I nodded before he stepped out.

While he was out, I could have sworn I saw Gladius walking toward me, his armor broken and his eyes wide. I stood up and backed away from him.

My eyes opened and I saw my friend Pinax running at me. I gave a sigh of relief and walked toward him. He gave me a rundown of the facts. I was a demigod.

Sort:  

Congratulations @davneal! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 5
Hive Power Up Month challenge - Feedback from February day 3
Our Hive Power delegations to the last Power Up Month challenge Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more