Steem is a game run by oligarchs, but at least it's a (mostly) transparent game

in #logiczombie5 years ago (edited)

Quoted text from here, LINK

...work toward a solution that improves the real value of Steem,

Steem has zero "intrinsic value".

Steem only has utility if it can be exchanged (directly or indirectly) for fiat currency.

Don't fool yourself.

Once the community value is the main focus, the price will raise in a stable fashion and all holders will win.

Please define "community value".

Any rules (in service of "community value") should be minimal and logically coherent and enforcement should be polite and informative (please give fair warning).

You talk like you want the masses disillusioned with facebook and youtube to swarm onto steemit, but those people are leaving because of privacy concerns and freedom of speech concerns.

Steemit is explicitly transparent (almost no privacy), but at least it's a level playing-field.

Steemit is reasonable (for the most part) on freedom of speech, but I've been flagged (which felt like harassment) and I've seen several other new users flagged for re-posting their own original content from other blogs or forums. This leaves a bad first impression on people, and a bad first impression is often their last.

I thought it would be cool to earn a few (steem) pennies for my thoughts, which I've already been posting for free for a while now.

But after seeing some of my posts getting 20+ upvotes and still showing $0.00, it really motivated me to figure out how this really works.

Luckily, I crossed paths with a couple of nice people who appreciated my contributions (efforts) and even delegated some steem to support/encourage me.

Honestly, that's the only reason I'm still here.

If you want steemit to grow, you need to incentivize these people who act as ambassadors to NEW USERS.

I came to steemit because I thought it was a (democratic) social-platform/dtube/3speak where I could earn a few pennies for my thoughts.

What I realize now is that it's a game run by oligarchs (plutocracy).

But at least it's a (mostly) transparent game.

The oligarchs reward and smite on mere whim and insure the votes of their "lessers" are meaningless.

But those invested users now are also entrepreneurs and behaving to harm one's own business is not a smart move for an investor.

If new users believe that their only chance to get a steady modest income from steemit is to "perform for the established rep-whales" and or post photos of their extravagant vacations, then CREATIVE people who want to do their own thing will LEAVE, and you will be drowned in sycophants.

Quoted text from here, LINK

logiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpg
ZOMBIEBASICTRAINING

Essential sites for (new) steemit users:
check anybody's steemit activity log
check anybody's steemit activity patterns
offical steemit etiquette guide
identify the most influential steemit users
advice for minnows and plankton
Also, set your rewards to 100% steem power and you'll get a cool steem logo next to all your posts!!

Copyright notice: Feel free to copy and paste any LOGICZOMBIE original content (posts and or comments and or replies and logiczombie logo, excluding quoted 3rd party content of course) according to copyleft principles. copyleft wiki

Use the tag #LOGICZOMBIE if you'd like to participate in a civil debate or have your post critiqued for logical coherence.

I am reserving my substantial upvote to support quality posts made to the #LOGICZOMBIE tag.

+proHUMAN +proFAMILY

Your scathing critique is requested.

Sort:  

With SteemIt, at least it's visible, as you say. Major influencers control Reddit no different than SteemIt, you just can't see it as easily.

Just don't let t.r.a.f.a.l.g.a.r. catch you self-voting... (!)

Hahahha, @logiczombie, that was hillarious... What a warning to mintdice...Hahaha...

I hear your concerns and I think most have that concern too. For example, I joined in August 2017 and stopped using the platform till February 2018. Why? Because, bloody-hell, no one cared. And my posts were good quality ones and yet no readership. Like you said, there would be 5-10 votes (your 20 would have been wishful thinking for me back then) and yet the reward payout would be zilch.

That's when I realized the only way to be doing well around here, without investing even one dollar in Steem is to participate in contests of my choice. What it did is it got me instant readership and thus followers and over a period of time upvotes from people which at least adds up to 0.01 Steem.... Hahahah.

But seriously speaking, that's how the followers came and if you are good at your work, then even upvotes from whales like curie, ocdb, blocktrades and others.

Just sharing my way of succeeding over here.

:)

Haha. I like the added respect of always going back just to let them know you mean well :)

Yeah, I'm 100% in favor of self-voting. If they don't want people to self-vote, they should disable it in code.

That's good advice. I'm very glad our paths have crossed.

For example, I joined in August 2017 and stopped using the platform till February 2018. Why? Because, bloody-hell, no one cared. And my posts were good quality ones and yet no readership.

Yeah, if they want "high quality original content" then they need to make sure new members get some encouragement.

Participating in contests is great advice. I've also found that (quite surprisingly) some of the larger accounts actually get very few comments, and so, writing some critiques of the "top trending" posts can sometimes work to your advantage.

;]

Posted using Partiko Android

:)

yo managed it unto their autovote ;]

We'll see how long that lasts!

 5 years ago  Reveal Comment