Sort:  

Just don't let t.r.a.f.a.l.g.a.r. catch you self-voting... (!)

Hahahha, @logiczombie, that was hillarious... What a warning to mintdice...Hahaha...

I hear your concerns and I think most have that concern too. For example, I joined in August 2017 and stopped using the platform till February 2018. Why? Because, bloody-hell, no one cared. And my posts were good quality ones and yet no readership. Like you said, there would be 5-10 votes (your 20 would have been wishful thinking for me back then) and yet the reward payout would be zilch.

That's when I realized the only way to be doing well around here, without investing even one dollar in Steem is to participate in contests of my choice. What it did is it got me instant readership and thus followers and over a period of time upvotes from people which at least adds up to 0.01 Steem.... Hahahah.

But seriously speaking, that's how the followers came and if you are good at your work, then even upvotes from whales like curie, ocdb, blocktrades and others.

Just sharing my way of succeeding over here.

:)

Haha. I like the added respect of always going back just to let them know you mean well :)

Yeah, I'm 100% in favor of self-voting. If they don't want people to self-vote, they should disable it in code.

That's good advice. I'm very glad our paths have crossed.

For example, I joined in August 2017 and stopped using the platform till February 2018. Why? Because, bloody-hell, no one cared. And my posts were good quality ones and yet no readership.

Yeah, if they want "high quality original content" then they need to make sure new members get some encouragement.

Participating in contests is great advice. I've also found that (quite surprisingly) some of the larger accounts actually get very few comments, and so, writing some critiques of the "top trending" posts can sometimes work to your advantage.