Introducing #LiveLondon Series

in #london6 years ago (edited)

When I first started writing on Steemit, I had a lot of people asking me what was my “thing” - in other words, what did I write about that was different.  

And even though in my intro post I mentioned that I’m going to write about everything and anything, I still had a few (hopefully more unique) ideas that I wanted to launch on Steemit...

One of those things is the #LiveLondon Series.


I’ve lived in London for a while now, somewhere around 7 years and I have always taken advantage of what this city has to offer. More so in the last 2 years as I'm able to afford a lot more things AND push myself to discover new places for my date offs with Liam (which I still ought to write about!).

I've had this conversation with many friends and strangers, but I still truly believe that - if you work in London but live in zone 4 or 5 and don’t have sufficient funds OR time to go out and experience some of the things that London has to offer - then you’re not really living the city.

And I’m sure there are exceptions but sometimes I feel like you would almost be better off coming back to this city when you have either gained a bit more experience and therefore can earn a decent enough salary (which is exactly what I did after graduating LSE), or living here when you simply have more cash in the bank.

Point being is that London is one of the most expensive cities to live to rent in Europe and this city has SO MUCH to offer that it would be a bit of waste if you couldn't afford doing things you love, and experience new things you never knew you would.



Having said that, not all cool shit is or has to be expensive and this is exactly why I’m starting the #LiveLondon Series. So that I can share all the cool shit that I get up to on weekly basis without completely breaking the bank (well, and maybe just sometimes breaking it too). 😏

Just to be clear, as much as I love London's top sights and landmarks (where most of the tourists hang out) - that's not what I'm going to write about. #LiveLondon Series will feature pop up theatres, food markets, exhibitions and experiences that are a lot more low key and aimed at locals. I will also share my tips on how and where to find all this info!

And if you still need some convincing as to why you should read these series, then go check out my February Madness posts: PART 1 and PART 2 to give you a taste of what I get up to in this city!



The ultimate goal is to encourage London (AND non-London) Steemians to get out there and discover new places and experiences in one of the most exciting cities in the world! 

I'm also up for collaborating with other Steemians and want to encourage everyone to spread the love with the hashtag #LiveLondon 😍

What is (or has been) your favourite low key place/experience in London? Let me know in the comments below!


<Love, 

Inga x


P.S. Funnily enough, @yasminep and I ended up catching a bit of the Royal Wedding this weekend in a small local pub called Buckingham Arms and we both spotted this great quote from Samuel Johnson...

Sort:  

Greetings, beautiful and dear Ingaa

When I entered the steemit, my focus was to write about the things I described in the introduceyourself post as well. I write mostly about psychology / finance.

I'm glad your focus is varied, because we can learn a lot from you. I know almost nothing of Europe besides the readings I make and comments from some friends who travel there.

I'm interested in getting to know London. I would love to watch a Manchester United game. I think you're a Chelsea fan right? hihihihhihi

When I go, I'll call her to go, okay ??

Thanks for showing us a little bit of London.

Good evening!

Love this - it's so true, there's so much to explore in London and most people just don't know where to find off the beaten track experiences. It's much more touristy now but I just love a Broadway market to City Farm to Columbia Road flower market kind of day. Looking forward to this series x

That is a great little route, Jo and a cool idea to feature a day out in a particular London area!

I’m definitely up for collaborating with others and spread the love for London ❤️

Congratulations @ingaaa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

London is the best for stuff to do that is free. I spent 4 months going to the British Museum everyday on my 1 hour lunch break to make sure I saw EVERY item in there. There's no way I would have been able to do that if there was an entry fee.

Also that sunrise/set with Big Ben is amazing!

Haha, I mean British Musuem is good but EVERY lunch hour? That’s impressive! Haha

As much as I love all the free musuems in London, I was thinking more on the lines of pop up theatres, food markets and experiences 😉

And so it begins! Can't wait for this one Ings. Also would love you to compile a list of all the best online resources to find free stuff/cool stuff to do in London.

Yes, definitely! I might do a post on that after a few features. Give readers a little excited at first ;-)

Great idea! Looking forward to this. Yessssss.

What a great idea! Loving the idea of this series, there's always so much going on in London, it's hard to keep track of all the little cool things that happen under the radar, so would be GREAT to see and hear about them in one place. Can't wait to see them!

Aww, thanks guys! And this is exactly why I’m starting these - I doubt I will be able to cover it all but I’ll make sure I share some banging places ;-)

@Nora - when are you going? We missed you and the other cheek at the picnic this weekend 🙁

Some banging places eh? Can't wait! Seems like I'll be leaving before the end of the month as the new flatmate moves in 1st June! It's the final countdown!

Yeah we were so gutted to miss it, it looked like heaps of fun from the photos and videos! Hope to see you all soon though!