Foolishly In Love

in #love7 years ago


image source

I started screaming and shouting for help as he whipped me continuously with a strong belt on his hands, neighbors heard and started banging the door which Cornelius had looked in order to prevent distractions in carrying out his wicked ordeal, I could hear some voices saying, leave her alone, do you want to kill her and all other comments, and as if what the crowd outside were saying was already getting into him, he threw the belt on the floor and walked out of the house through the back door. I dragged myself to get the main door opened to aid my neighbors access into the house, so I would not die without getting any assistance.


image source

My very good friend, Mama patience was the first person to come into the room and she quickly helped me up from the ground, I was sobbing uncontrollably and the scars on my body was just too much too count,what happened again this time was the question my friend asked me as she hurried into the kitchen to boil water to help mop my soars, I did not get up on time to prepare break fast for him this morning, so he went to work angry and immediately he got back I tried apologizing and explaining to him that I was feeling a bit sick, but the next thing he did was to remove his belt and start flogging me, I said admits tears. So, is that enough reason why he should beat you this way I have always told you that your husband is an animal. I quickly used my hand to cover her mouth when she mentioned those words because I did not want what happened the last time she insulted my husband to re-occur again.

That day, she came to visit me and in the middle of our gist Cornelius my husband walked in and she greeted him to which he just waved his hand at her, I quickly got up to go and set the table for him before returning to gist with my friend and this was the conversation that got me the beating of my life.

Mama Patience: This your husband (na wa o), doesn't he ever smile the least he would have done was to respond to my greeting properly.

Me: My friend please do not get angry, that is what I have to deal with everyday.

Mama Patience: I give you hand my friend, I have told you to leave this man alone ehn, you are a very beautiful lady and you do not deserve what you go through with this man, see his ugly face self.

Me: He is still my husband o, at least I have not filed a divorce yet, so don't insult him.

The next thing I heard was Betty, come over here, that was my husband calling.

Mama Patience: I guess that means I need to take my leave, see you later my friend and talk to your husband to change or better still just leave him alone, I can come and help you pack your things and even get you a better man if you wish to re-marry ....... Oya, start going I said as we both laughed and I locked the door behind her.

I hurriedly went to respond to his call and I saw him standing close to the living room with his hands in his pocket, I said Yes, you called, the response I got from that was a slap on my face, what have I done again this time around Cornelius is it that there is always an excitement within you whenever you beat me or what is it?

Cornelius: How many times have I told you that i do not want to see you with that foolish friend of yours again, how will she open her dirty mouth to advice you to leave me and even say I am ugly.

Me: But baby you know I love you and I can never listen to her advice.

Cornelius: You think I am stupid or dump right , not to be able to know that you are already making plans right and I will beat you into loving me properly.

That was the last thing I remembered because the next thing I know was that I was in the hospital and my Sister was sitting by my side, she was so happy to see me open my eyes and the next thing I said was what is going on and where is my husband.
My sister said just get better, we will talk about everything properly.

Immediately the doctor discharged me and told me that I lost my baby because of the untold stress I was put through, my sister drove me to her house and told me that she was getting her lawyer to get the divorce paper ready, this is madness, what if I hadn't showed up at that time then you would have been dead by now and I am sure this is not the first time and you have lost your baby for the second time to which I just kept mute.

After a week my husband started calling me to apologize for what he did and he promised that it will never happen again, he started sending me text messages and he pleaded with me on several occasions to please come back home and not destroy the love we have built over years.

When my sister went out one day, I ran back home to meet my husband who knelt down to apologize all over again and he promised me that such will never repeat itself again that I should find a place in my heart to forgive him to which I did and that day he treated me very specially and we made up. When my sister found out that I went back to meet my husband, she told me never to call her again.

Becky, Becky and I had to recover from the painful memory when I heard my friend's voice, why are you thinking so deep you see this time around you are getting divorced and nothing is changing it she said.

Me: But I love him and he loves me too, he is just going through emotional stress at the moment and that is the reason why he is over reacting.

Mama Patience: You are the most foolish being I have ever seen, so someone who claims to love you will put you through so much pain and stress and enjoy it.

Me: He feels terrible about it too,he will surely apologize.

Mama Patience: Just the same way he will apologize to your parents, your siblings and to your grave after punching you to death.

Me: But, I just feel there is no perfect man and if that is his weakness then I think leaving him will be bad for his health.

Mama Patience: Now I see that you are not only foolish but as well dump, is this real I thought you were smart or is this man using any form of fetish power on you?, take a good look at yourself, a multi talented, great and intelligent business woman reducing yourself to a life of misery and beating .Rubbish.

She walked out of my house really angry, and I just looked at my self in the mirror and said, am I really foolish?, but I just love him....

So I want to ask my good friends on steemit to advice me on what to do, do you think I am in love or I am just being foolish.
Thanks for reading , please up vote, comment and resteem. Thanks

Sort:  

I say... you call the police.

Get a grip.

thanks my friend, it didn't happen to me but I just felt I should share what happens in some marriages.