❤️ Stop being a perfectionist! ❤️

in #love7 years ago

As an artist, I’ve learned to embrace imperfections, because that is what makes my art unique and special. I have friends that are never satisfied with their work. I get it, it’s not perfect, and that’s okay. There is beauty in imperfection and chaos… if only we could see it.

21623947_10156593358747926_291485076_n.jpg

The obsession to try to be perfect can lead to poor health and constant criticism.

Here are 5 reasons why being a perfectionist can hurt you.

It can wear you down
Trying to be perfect will drive you crazy. Constant fixation on achievements and attaching your self-worth to it, will only lead to self-doubt. Overtime the pressure of needing to be perfect can wear you down and take a physical toll on your health.

You become discontent
The feeling of being unsatisfied is not a good feeling. This can cause unnecessary stress in your life because nothing you do will ever be good enough.

It suffocates creativity
When you are a perfectionist, you are suffocating creativity. It prevents you from taking bold moves, because you might be scared that the results won’t be perfect. Being a perfectionist squashes innovation and is the killer of all dreams.

You are hyper critical
When you are a perfectionist, you judge yourself and others. I used to have a boss that was a perfectionist, and it was very difficult to work with her. She was constantly putting me down and criticizing my writing. Nothing was ever good enough. There was so much wasted energy in making minor changes that really had no impact on our end goal. Being highly critical reduced our productivity.

You can’t delegate tasks
When you are a perfectionist, you don’t trust others to do a great job, because nothing in your eyes, nothing is ever good enough. You believe that you are the only ones that can do the best job possible. This ruins opportunities to build up a team and trust.


21622021_10156593359652926_415587348_n.jpg
Love,
Karen

Sort:  

reSTEEM

aww thanks! :)

Perfection is only in the eyes of the creator. We are unique in our perceptions and it is hard to see from another person's eyes. Art for example is complex, it is an expression of ones thoughts and feelings that may not appeal to others. You can only be a perfectionist to what you create. Thanks for sharing!

ah that is a great way to look at perfection. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder! :)

Thanks for this @karensuestudios. If I can add a small bit of personal experience. As a recording musician, I have the opportunity to do take after take until I get a piece of music exactly as I like. Often times the more 'perfect' it becomes, the less musical it becomes. There is a balance between a piece of art feeling human and having a high level of craft. That balance-point includes imperfections. Some of my favourite pieces of music I have recorded are full of little gems ;)
Following
Thanks
Bucky

aww thanks for the lovely comment and story share. I agree.... so much beauty to being unique and quirky! :) All my paints are flawed, but I love the flaws :)

Perfection is really an exalted state one should aspire to... But its wrong to hate yourself for not being perfect.

I believe perfection comes in the practice of attaining to perfection, and not in the actual state of being perfect...

So yes its important to embrace shortcoming and mistakes as learning curves to attain perfection, and not as demoralizing effects of not being perfect.

Perfection and imperfection are like the ying and the yang, they are totally different, but totally inseperable... They both make up the whole of existence, and cant be done away with from each other.

Thanks for your great post on this topic, and i am honoured to be able to say something in line with your post. Thanks again Please accept this gift

Thanks, my wife is a dollmaker, and that totally apply to her, I'll try to use this to make her more satisfied in her creations!

WOW what a cool thing to make! :) aww I totally get it, it can be hard to stop when you worked so hard on something.

It feels good to read that. Totally in my philosophy of life. You're an amazing being sharing way too much positivity. :-)

hahaha there is no such thing as too much positivity! hehe. Thanks for stopping by, always great to hear from ya.

I embrace my flaws. The make me human. They open me up for a big coliseum of improvement. ;)

I love the incomplete <3, human & nature combined.

:) aww love this. Thanks for the share.

As a photographer, I love it when a technically imperfect turns out amazing. Thanks for this reminder to not be too hard on myself.

Stop being a perfectionist, okay!
Valuable lessons in this article, thanks!

@karensuestudios thnx for putting this information all with each other..

Perfectionism is very exhausting. 😩😘😗😙🤗🤗🤗

One of Picassso's tip to young art students was to try to draw a perfect circle.
Guess what! It is impossible, and every flaws reveal your uniqueness.

hehee your comment made me chuckle. Thanks for that :)

Undeniably true, some times leave some gaps for improvement. We can't make perfect product without a long period of training and learning. Have to admit that we are just ameatur and on the way to master!

:) I agree. Life is just full of lessons and learnings.

😄ya, it is how you perceive it.

Hey Karen! I can definitely relate to your wise words. I often myself spend too much of my valuable time perfecting what I do. In life it is important to find the balance of perfection, thank you - I will keep this in mind. Upvoted.

aww thank you! Balance is always important to keep in mind... keeps us sane! :) Have a wonderful day.

Nice and Awsome Post..!
Always Be Happy and Kep it up

aww thank you!

yeah I totally agree !
Perfectionisme can strangle you and by this way strangle others around you...
and where is the limit to be perfect? every little mistake (or unperferction) can create a disaster but it can also gives you something magic that no one else will have...
I love your vision of life
than you <3

aww thanks for this awesome comment. :) Yes lets create magic together! :)

I don't mean to plug but I wrote a poem/story on this a few days ago

https://steemit.com/poetry/@idabble/perfection-a-life-goal

Nailed it! I am very goal driven and a perfectionist to the core! I dwell on unrealistic goals and expectations, meaning I kick myself in the shins on purpose many times a day 😁

Regardless, I am still young and you know what the say, with old age, comes wisdom.

Much love!

heheh :) yes sometimes it's good to just take a step back and let it go! :) Thanks for the share.

Excellent analogy of a perfectionist! Quite exhausting when you live with one and it starts to rub off on you to the point where you start seeing things through the eyes of the perfectionist....not good I know! Very true that this is a bad trait for teamwork!

aww yes. Hopefully they can learn to love and embrace imperfections.

Yep, perfection is an impossible ideal and one should know when to stop when trying to attain it. If you don't stop on time, it indeed wears you down and makes you much less productive.

thank you for this comment. I couldn't agree more. :)

My pleasure :)

Well said. Perfectionism suffocates creativity. I find flaws to be what define beauty.

Great post. Im like that. But working on it. Easy to understand but hard to imbed

I agree. Doing it and letting go is the hardest part.