The Love of my Life: How We Met

in #love7 years ago

The anti-bullying forum was that night, it was almost the end of my second year in university and I was desperate to seem active and involved. My best friend Theodore invited me and my other best friend Sarah would be there, so I thought why not. We approached the large blue and white building that spat A/C at you every time the door was open and signed our names in the old chemistry lab book they provided. We then took the elevator to the top of the building where the event would be; it was a large conference room with a long wooden table adorned with microphones and spinning office chairs. There was an area for people to sit on just chairs and there was an area for what looked like a chairman. We chose to sit around the conference table and I started to admire the photos of our National Heroes and past Prime Ministers that hung ever so gallantly on the walls. As I spun the chair to look behind me I noticed a large glass window that replaced the wall, that allowed us to over look the city. I turned around with a meh and just in time to hear the announcer say we are about to start. Everyone settled down and the proceedings began, boredom mounted, I turned to instagram for entertainment, looking up occasionally to seem like I'm just taking notes. Theodore and Sarah listened attentively and every so often made a comment to me about something. I looked up this one time and entering the door was a guy from school, Darius behind him we some girls I knew and behind them... was him; he was tall, dark and full of life, his torso spilled and filled his shirt the way milk does in a tall glass, his jeans hugged his ass the way lovers hug at night, tightly and with intent. He casually strolled into the room saying hi to those he knew and helping Darius set up his cameras. My eyes followed him every step of the way, I had found a new means of entertainment. I enjoyed the way his smile lit up the room, his eyes were full of mystery and excitement, his ears fell just asymmetrically enough to make him look like the most handsome man on the planet whenever you saw him. The night seemed to speed on with every feature I noticed and he ended up behind me, I rejoiced for a closer look but never took it as I dreaded getting caught. Then they asked him to speak, I turned my attention to him as he spoke with all eloquence and authority, he grew taller in my eyes with every word that fell from his mouth and as the event ended, my friends encouraged me to speak to him, I refused, I was petrified. He was meeting and greeting and then I heard a distinct voice, Sarah had gone over to him... "Hi, I'm Sarah and I want to introduce you to my friend Liz...", I felt as though I had been struck by lightening and I sat frozen, I turned the chair in an effort to hide and then I noticed she was about to come for me. I speed to his side in the moment, before he could turn to see no one. I said Hi, with the largest smile my face could carry and introduced my self, I sensed his intrigue and was satisfied but my friends ensured I stuck to his side till we exited the building. He asked for my number and spoke about introducing me to his team, he spoke about his start up and impressed all who were listening. When he was leaving he shook everyone's hand and hugged me saying "It was especially nice to meet you". He ran off and I stood there frozen in time as in my eyes we were still hugging.

Little did I know, this would be the start of a whole new lifestyle...

Stay tuned for the rest of the story.My Idiot-01.jpg