The deepest love

in #love6 years ago (edited)

You watched me as I slept, I know.

I feel like I have always known you and that we have always been together. You likely do not feel the same but I know that you care for me deeply. I care for you also. People throw around words of love and friendship but rarely do they consider what these terms mean.

They laugh at each other's jokes, but talk behind their backs yet, I know that you will never do that to me, I can trust you with all that I have and you will never betray my trust, it is just not in your nature.

You flow through life from moment to moment but never selfishly or greedily. When you are in need you ask but when you have taken your fill, you move on and watch as others take theirs. You have taught me what generosity is, you have taught me grace.

You have been the most giving amongst all I have met, even those who tell me they love me have not to this depth. You have given what is yours, you have protected what is mine, even though the temptation to do otherwise may have been strong. There are so few that can control their desires, so few willing to even try.

Those with much more experience, those with so much more training and education fail to control even some of their most basic impulses. You though have shown that nature is strong, but nurture can battle it too. When it comes to taking care, I think you have taken care of me, more than I you. I apologise for this but, I just couldn't always be there for you.

I will always be grateful that you waited and I am grateful that you never showed your disappointment in me. Instead, you welcomed me back each time as if you hadn't been hurt all, as if your heart hadn't broken and the thoughts I may not return ever crossed your mind.

How can I ever repay you for this, how can I make up for all of the moments we shared and all of the moments I missed? All I can do is offer you the same grace you have shown me through all these years. You waited for me with dignity, I will let you leave holding it.

I know you are in pain, I know it is time for the relationship we have to end but I do not want it to be so. I wish I could go back and have one more moment, offer one more meal but, those moments have passed.

Imagine all the times we played together, ran together and how many times you made me laugh. For now, be calm and close your eyes, breathe deeply your last. You are not any dog, you are my friend. I will watch you until you sleep.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Edit: Our dog Viski has been getting increasingly ill and aging fast. He is still with us but I feel the time is coming so I must prepare.

Sort:  

The best day of my life was the day's my son were born. From the moment I first heard he heart beat inside me, I was in love. Every time I felt their little feet kicking my stomach, I would stop and give thanks for the miracle inside me.

I love envy you @mrsfox. I wish I have I have them

Humans don't deserve dogs. Dogs are love. ♥

Love dont ask who deserve it or not. Love just give @arrjey

She's so sweet and growing up so fast! :)

touched my heart...

Oh no well that made me cry before 7am... what a beautiful ode to your puppy. My condolences. My puppy is 15 now somedays she still acts like a puppy. Other days not so much.

He is still here... but lately it is going down hill fast. Ironically, stomach problems. I don't know when the tie comes how I will tell our daughter but I do know my wife will struggle.

@tarazkp they say that our animals are like us. Mine has to take prednisolone some days which always make me laugh as they are they same albeit much lower doses than I was taking. My puppy has been struggling of late. very listless which is concerning.she never complains even when in pain so I do worry when she's down. I'm sending your wife an air hug! Your daughter will be understandably upset but hopefully shes so young she can move past it with time.

@warpedpoetic I'm sorry for your loss.

:) Mine likes to snack so I guess it takes something away from me.

Who knows... he is almost 12 now but when he is feeling good, acts like a puppy.

Haha i had to read the snack comment twice to get it. Bit slow this morning. I like when they get those second winds and act like puppy's. Maybe he's just having a bad week - we could call it a flare... and he will be back to his awesome puppy ways soon.

@insideoutlet if one has pet no need to take the happy pill.

Oh 15... that's old. Mine passed on at 11 and by that time, he could not even bark or run. It was painful to watch.

So deep,you have really opened to your friend. Let there be grace that he showed you when he still could. I too deeply love my dog. I would feel same.
Thanks for opening up.

@tesaganewton dog lovers like you and me feel this post a lot

I don't own a dog, but this post moved me to tears. I'm emotional like that

I am so moved by this as I'm a dog lover @lucentbritex

I' ve lost my first dog some time ago so i am truly sorry.
The unconditional love that we recieve from them will never be deserved. Now when I wrote this I have to hug my 6 year old shih-tzu, although she is lying on my bed.

@spalatino we weep because we loved them

This is beautiful. I know how it feels to lose a dog. when i lost mine several years ago, it took time for it to sink. I still miss him. He has bitten me, chewed my clothes up, passed wastes and shed his fur on the wrong places but he was truly loyal, a great friend and family until the end.
Jimmy grew so old, his teeth rotted and his eye brows grew grey. I want to believe he lived a fruitful life. Yo have brought my memories from the recesses. Once again, lovely piece.

Thank you. I have lost several over the many years too. It is always hard and the one in the picture is aging very fast.

Since i lost Jimmy, i have not been able to get another. I will when i get a place of my own that is big enough for the fellow to romp.

they are the most beautiful and innocent beings in the world :)
@tarazkp

Such beautiful words and post . Thank you for sharing

Sorry for your loss.

@hackerwhacker I can't imagine the pain when I lost simone I was devastated

the babies are miracle and very innocent @tarazkp

love to read it....

Beautiful words and reach the heart with ease ,, much love <3

Sometimes when I read your post, I feel like you write from another realm.
I'm awestruck

We rarely find here writers like him right @sohan4745

True words , true friends are hard to find, please follow and upvote me thank you

If I had a baby it would be endless baby pics on Steemit. Everyone likes babies! And the dog too. I love babies and dogs

I wish I have babies myself @viraldrome

Great post man so much beautiful....

@tarazkp I envy you I wish I have Pets my own

That's truly heartbreaking... I am genuinely scared of the time our dog will not be with us anymore. You develop a very special bond with a dog and nobody will ever offer their love so unconditionally. You couldn't help but love them right back.

I've lost a cat twice. Both were my parents' cats but I was still living at home when they came to the family. The first one was ten months old when she was hit by a car. She was brought to us in Finnair plastic bag by a neighbour who had found her. The other was with my parents for 16 years and she was a much beloved pet. She became so ill that they had to take her to the vet one last time. You do what's best for Viski when the time comes.

That's beautiful and sad. :') My parents just lost their cat a month ago, he was a member of our family for more than 16 years. Losing a dear pet is always hard.

I'm really sorry to hear that Viski is suffering and nearing the end of his time with you but being aware that this is the case provides you with the opportunity to enjoy that time as much as possible. I've experienced the loss of a 'best friend' myself and know it's a difficult thing. He's a beautiful looking wee guy. :)

The imagery did a fine job of disguising your words and true direction of them. The post was really, really clever mate and worked well, I'd say. :)