LOVE IT ... shove it ... but actually BOTH

I came across @freedompoint's post earlier today & wanted to play along. There are at least two dozen things going on in the background of my life right now, and this is an opportunity for me to focus on NONE OF THEM but still put something out there.

I kinda miss y'all <3


love it.jpg

LOVE IT

  1. TORI AMOS - she's the best of everything. Her music is amazing, her voice is what my soul echoes, her lyrics are powerful, her attitude is honest, and she has been a saving grace to me in my moments of need. It's silly to some people to 'idolize' a musician like this ... but she's more than that. She's a mentor to those of us who pay attention, and she's a kind & gentle soul who wants us all (ALL) to recognize our divine femininity.
  2. TOMATO - give me tomato plants and I will love you forever. Cherries, Romas, Beefsteaks, Early Girls, whatever. I love the smell of the leaves, I love the way they stain my hands, I love their variety and colour. There is nothing better than biting into a tomato, in the height of summer, perfectly ripe and warmed by the sun. I also love how versatile they are in the kitchen & how easy they are to preserve!
  3. HELIOTROPE - possibly my favorite flower of all time. The colour is amazing, and the smell ... oh, just intoxicating and sensory-overloading. I had a plant once, and it bloomed for months and months. I would sit with it on the front porch and breathe so deeply. i need to get me another one!
  4. LIBERAL ARTS - yeah, I had to go wide here. Psychology, sociology, philosophy - all of that I will just EAT UP and talk about for hours if anyone expresses a minute of interest with me. Thoreau, James, Jung, Freud ... start throwing in some weird stuff like the ideas of Timothy Leary & psychotropic research and I am double hooked.
  5. SALVADOR DALI - oh, my artistic idol. Don't get me wrong, I love the impact of Rothko, the abstractness of Pollock, but Dali ... man oh man. He's also someone who has an extremely interesting background, which crafted him into the person he ended up being. He also lived his life dedicated to surrealism - he walked an anteater through the streets of Paris! "I am not strange, I am just not normal."

shove it (1).jpg

SHOVE IT

  1. ORANGE CLOTHES - There are three people in the world that look good in orange clothes, and none of them are here reading this. Orange belongs in nature, not on clothing.
  2. CLOWNS - NOPE. no no no no. I don't like the painted faces, because they're a bunch of liars! No one's that happy or that sad. They're creepy and I don't like them one stinkin' bit.
  3. UNNECESSARY SOUNDS - These get my misophonia all sorts of aggravated. Pen clicking, teeth scraping on metal forks, smacking, fingernails tapping on a desktop. That sound of "MPAH-AAH" after someone takes a drink. Sometimes even just listening to someone breathe gets me on edge and ready to run out of the room.
  4. GINGER - Weird, right? It's just too much for me. Ginger ale, ginger kombucha ... it's all painful in my face! I can handle it in very small does in soups or smoothies, or in a tea where it's a tertiary ingredient.
  5. OPRAH - Sorry, I just don't get what the big deal about her is. I applaud her for fighting her way to the top, good on her and all that but ... meh. I'm jaded about her poor decisions, probably - giving away cars that "winners" will have to pay taxes on. Mouthing off about mad-cow disease back in the 90's & early 2000's and hurting the cattle industry (that was big in the area I grew up in).

This challenge came from @snowpea and you can learn more about it here.

I'm usually not up to nominating people, but I will for this one, 'cause this could get interesting ;)

Sort:  

I love your list! Tori, Tomatoes, Dali, even liberal arts!

Orange huh? I've been trying to make my wardrobe colourful and i'll have to scrutinize orange options carefully. I don't really get why Oprah is such a big deal either - but I don't watch TV ... I wonder if Oprah wears a lot of orange?

I can't believe you told ginger to shove it. I still think you are awesome even if you don't like ginger. :)

i'm working on building a better relationship with ginger, i swear it! it was in a smoothie yesterday and i didn't complain ... actually almost enjoyed it ;) LOL

This is a great challenge. I gotta admit, since dying my hair with henna I actually love burnt orange in clothing! 😂 definitely something that had been on my shove it list previously 👏

Might try my hand at this after outside time! Thanks for the nomination 😉

you're welcome, i'd love to see what you have to say!

how long does the henna hold, or rather, how often do you have to re-dye? i've been thinking of moving that direction, but it's so easy to sit there & have someone else take care of me for a few hours, once every 8 weeks.

I haven't redyed mine in quite a long while, I think actually early january is when I last hennaed it. The color is still gorgeous and bright, takes well on my blonde+light-brown hair. I have growth at my roots which is blonde-brown currently, but I'm kind of digging it. was thinking about doing another henna sesh very soon though so we will see what route I take with it.

I find that if you dye your brows they need it more often than your locks since they replenish themselves more often. I'm sure it is also dependent on your natural hair color underneath. Henna is very permanent though, and you can't do much good dyeing over it, so make sure you know it's what you want :)

I think this is great! Great list! Man, I love tomatoes in the middle if summer also.

thanks so much! i am hoping for another good tomato year for 2018 =)

Great list!!
I love tomatoes too. My grandpa used to have a tomato farm, and I and my family would help him. The smell, taste, everything about tomatoes and growing them remind me of him. ♥
It spoiled me a bit too... I can't eat a grocery store tomato without complaining, haha! Nothing like home grown tomatoes.

And I feel ya on the Oprah thing, she annoys me. ;) But then, most fake, TV people do...

i've pretty much given up on grocery store tomatoes - unless they're mixed with garlic & basil, they're awful.

a whole tomato FARM!?!?! oh, that sounds amazing, what lovely memories to have!

i'm glad someone gets me on the oprah-aversion :/ LOL

Yes it was a lot of work! Haha, when we were little, we were on tomato worm picking duty, and we would roam around looking for those worms. :D
Later on we got more boring jobs like hoeing and tying up the plants.
Good memories though...

Congratulations @twinislandflames! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

you know Oprah is behind Agenda 21 hehe, AKA depopulation programs along with Bill Gates and vaccines?

uhm, what the what?! this is a conspiracy i've yet to hear about!

What do you think about the Polio Vaccine in India?

it's been a few days since it's crossed my mind - have there been new developments?