HOW MY FIRST DATE CHANGED MY LIFE.

in #lovesniper2 years ago (edited)

I met this man in my place of work about two year ago. At first, I didn’t realize he was going to mean so much to me on the long run. I wouldn’t call it love at first sight because even to him, I was just a random girl at that time. Who would have taught we would come this far, we may not be in a commitment but it’s certain we cannot do without each other.

78E1CB97-8B27-4D54-BAB3-5BAC491A6E27.webp source

This is not a love story neither is it a meet cute, this is a story between a young man and a young woman who would rather not place a name tag to their kind of relationship. A lot of people may not understand us but the fact that we understand each other is what matters most.

The first time he asked me out on a date was the beginning of this journey he asked me to go out with him not because he wanted to but because he had a ‘bet’ with his colleagues who teased him that he doesn’t have the guts to do it. He wanted to prove them wrong so he made up his mind to give it a try. There I was, clueless of what they had planned, he walked up to me with a huge smile on his face and with confidence, he asked me to a date. I thought for a while why would a guy I only met once want to take me out? Well, what is the worst that can happen?, I thought to myself, it’s just a harmless outing.
After all, I would not be too busy that weekend and I would love some company. So I said to him with a stern look, I don’t mind. With excitement, he asked when it would be convenient for me, we then agreed it should be on a Saturday aby 12 noon.

6A483B78-F2BE-400E-BE8A-6EF75C7E601A.webp source

He thanked me for accepting and said he was looking forward to it, he left and I wasn’t even suspicious of this ‘bet’ with his colleagues.
It’s Saturday morning and I almost forgot I had a date. I got a text message from him reminding me of it and I had to start preparing. It was 11am already and I haven’t even had my bath. The first thought that came to my mind was what I would wear, what kind of clothes does he like his women to be on? Gowns? Mini skirts or trousers? I would not want to show up on my first date looking homeless, now, would I? Absolutely not!
I had to think of something to wear and fast as I was running out of time. I then remembered I bought a red dress a week ago that I saw in one boutique and I’m yet to get the right occasion to wear it to. Perfect! I shouted as I have found the right occasion to wear the dress to. My date!
as it was a beautifully fitted mini red dress.
I hurriedly went into the bathroom to have my bath, after I was done, I had 30mins left to get ready. I did my makeup and ensured it wasn’t too much or too little, I wouldn’t want to look like a clown, right. I picked up my blunt cut wig and perfectly fitted it on my head before putting on my dress. I had to pick a foot wear, I chose to wear my strap heeled black heels to match my outfit. With a few spray of perfume, I was ready!

I picked up my phone to order Uber which arrived in 3 minutes and we drove to my location which was less than 45minutes away. When I got there, I realized he wasn’t there yet, I waited for more than 5 minutes with no sight of him. I put a call through to him with no response, at that moment I had mixed feelings. I thought he stood me up, I thought I had been played. Did he really bail on me? Why would he do this to me? I didn’t know what to do, should I head back home? Or do I wait a little more to know if he would show up? I questioned myself with confusion.

While still lost in thoughts, my phone rang, it was my supposed ‘date’. He apologized repeatedly for keeping me waiting for too long and asked where I was, I told him I was at the entrance and he should hurry and meet me there.
Ikeja City Mall(ICM) is a huge place located in the center of Lagos state, Nigeria, comprising of different stores including shop rite supermarket, boutiques, pharmacies, cinema, restaurants and bars.

CCBA0F91-F943-4F82-943C-162618873673.jpeg source

6EE94C6A-7D63-46D0-8905-1F65E914ADD6.jpeg

When he finally came to where I was, I was a bit upset but I didn’t want him to notice. We were already inside ICM and decided to sit in one of my favorite restaurants there, Chicken Republic.

0B1EA020-9070-4D5C-B8E0-A58AF81DA785.jpeg source

I love this restaurant because of their wide variety of food and low cost meals. He placed an order and it came almost immediately, how cool? I know right.

We ate, talked, drank, laughed so much with each other for hours, I forgot I was even mad at him. I realized he wasn’t a bad person and I enjoyed his company. He told Me a lot about himself and unknowingly told me of how this date was planned because of a bet. A bet! What? I said. He tried to calm me down as I was about to cause a scene. He told me he was sorry and had good intentions. I wasn’t having any of that, I was heart broken, so I asked to leave and he obliged with tears almost in his eyes. He ordered Uber for me to take me home.

The next day, I got a lot of text messages of apology from him and I thought to myself to forgive him especially because of the effort he put into saying ‘sorry’. I finally returned his call and asked to see him, he told me of how sorry he was sincerely and how he couldn’t stop thinking of me and that was exactly how I felt too. We then picked out another date to try again and from there, we became fiends for life and this journey skyrocketed into something more exciting. I am thankful I met someone like him.

Sort:  

That's so sweet. Who would have thought that a bet would result in something special? I would have been mad too, but I'm glad it worked out well for you.

It’s indeed special. Thank you very much.

Aww this gave me little goosebumps😍

I know right. Thanks for the comment.

He sounds like a really nice guy.

He sure is, thank you.

Congratulations @queenb33! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁶ Meetings Contest

Thank you hivebuzz