You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sky of our youth

Oh my! I would love to hear stories of growing up on the airfield. Have you written about it before?

Low flying military aircraft are not so nice. Lately the coast guard has been buzzing our house with their helicopters almost every day. I wonder what they're looking for.

I've taken flying lessons before and even got to the point where I could fly solo. It's an expensive hobby and we ultimately had other commitments, but I think I might get back to it someday. Flying by yourself for the first time is one of the most amazing experiences you can have.

Sort:  

Well, I wasn't exactly living there :) But, I was lucky father's daughter and sort of I think you have expression for it -Tom boy :)So, my father who was airplane mechanic Major took me often to airfield. And my mother's sister was stewardess, and my aunt's daughter was airplane engineer and constructor.
So, ask me what is the best scent for me ever made? It's smell of kerosene.
And moment standing at runway and listening to engines becoming alive.
Unfortunately in my country in the time I wanted to join military academy and becoming pilot there were no places for women.
Than I wanted to become stewardess, but the moment I finished my high school, that same year civil war started and our Air company was closed.
So, my dream of flying ended.
Now I have great memories, and that is not such a small thing.