You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lunching out on Catching Up

in #lunch4 years ago

Enjoy absorbing the culture. I expect there is a different pace of life there. Are they like Spain where they eat really late in the evening? I think it's partly due to it being too warm earlier. Keep working on the language as the locals will appreciate you trying.

Sort:  

I think there is a different pace of life, yes, and that will take some adjusting too, unless they have siestas, that's something I can easily adopt!

Language is a priority for sure. I don't think it's too difficult a language to pick up. I'm going to experiment with various different apps too, not really keen on paying for Duolingo, it's cute but also kind of annoying at the same time.

It may be worth paying for a course or even personal lessons to make faster progress. When I went to live in Germany I did not really speak the language even though I did it at school. My dad had a set of Berlitz tapes and I used those to make progress. Luckily a lot of people I worked with spoke excellent English, but not my landlady.

I'm not against paying. I just think I can probably to better than duolingo!

I think we had some kind of German language lessons - with record and hardback books all in a large leather brown case - from when I was a kid.

How times have changed!

Posted using Dapplr

I had a play with Duolingo to practice my German a bit, but it seems more of a game than a teacher to me. I didn't pay for it. My kids have used it too. They have become the default for language learning these days.

I'm off busking again this weekend and doing a virtual 10k race tomorrow. Have you run there yet?