Working on my vision and myself: forging a hobby craft

in #make7 years ago (edited)

I am a maker, my wife is a maker, we met making a magnificent pirate ship with a mutual friend. together we have built many things, including a 2-year customization/restoration of a 1969 kit companion trailer. We love to project together, but lately, I have been focused mostly on building out my forge.

0615171730.jpg

I have always dreamed of owning a forge space, working hot iron into pretty things, sweating my arse off, and swinging a hammer. I don't care to make knives or anything of the sort. I am focused on decorative blacksmithing, useful beautiful handmade items for my own pleasure. However I do occasionally sell things, and/or display things, so my forge needs a name.

I am going to name it Verksted:

Norwegian Bokmål - Noun
verksted n (definite singular verkstedet, indefinite plural verksteder, definite plural verkstedene)

a workshop

0218171546.jpg

Why? My entire family hails from Norway, I have always loved the mythology of my ancestors, and it is really just simply my workshop. For years I have used Nordic design in my maker space pieces, I love to incorporate the flowing lines and hidden runes. I hide them in nearly every modality that I have ever taken up in the art realm. It is my inspiration, who knows maybe I have a little dwarven in me somewhere. Between now at mid August I will not get a lot of time at my forge, summer is just too damned busy, so in the downtime I will work on creating a logo, a touch mark, and all the other aspects of creating a brand, even if it is all really just for my own entertainment.


0402171345.jpg
0423171829.jpg