Sort:  

Maybe you're the one who doesn't understand what I mean or what you read in the post then, autovotes can't be stopped, you can't magically make them stop and they in and of themselves can't destroy the blockchain or make decentralization so weak that Hive becomes worthless. When used well they can work as some kind of subscription model, "hey I like what you're doing, here's part of my daily voting power towards you, keep it up". That's a strength of Hive, something that wouldn't be possible on most other chains. The issue is when it gets abused or when the total amount of autovotes exceeds into giving authors a piece of the pie that's too high from the reward pool, when that happens there's downvotes at our side to combat it.

Downvotes on excessively rewarded authors through autovotes mean that both the author and the autovoters get smaller returns, over time this means those not indulged in such activity get more curation rewards and every other post gets higher rewards based on the rewards that were removed through the downvotes of the overrewarded posts. This helps decentralization and distribution of stake. The issue is most don't use downvotes, a very few percentage use them badly and it's in general not a fun thing to do or receive because we're human and have emotions. Like my emotions towards your dumbass ending of your comment.

I didn't deserve this treatment. I have been polite to you.

"May god help you" is polite?

I don't really care what you think you deserve, I responded to your comment that I don't agree with your opinions and fears and you responded what I translated as an asshole back.