Marathon!

in #marathon7 years ago

On Sunday, I ran 26.2 miles at the Yorkshire Marathon, and in the process raised over £600 for Leeds Mencap, a local Leeds based charity that supports children and adults with special needs.

In the end, I ran it in 03:50:54, which I'm relatively happy with. It was my first ever marathon, and up to mile 19, I had thought I was going to finish in under 03:30, but my legs began to cramp and seize in the last 6 miles, which reduced my running to more of a pathetic jogging-walk.

Now. My advice for anyone considering doing a marathon.

  1. Train hard. Give yourself at least a couple of months to prepare (obviously depending on how fit you already were before you started preparing).

  2. Don't be afraid to stop for a minute to stretch your calves and hamstrings if they become tight. I had to do this, and it may take off seconds at the time, but it could save you minutes in the long run.

  3. Don't drink too much water during the race! This was a grave mistake of mine. By mile 16 I felt like I was washing machine running with a full load inside me.

Just minutes before I started the marathon. Look how naive I look. He has no idea what's about to come...

This is the smug expression of a man who has just ran 26.2 miles. Very smug indeed!

The course. Doesn't look so bad on a map, ey?

Sort:  

Nice time!

Congratulations @robertprothero! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations for your good time in your first marathon! Not bad at all being the first.
Marathon is a very difficult discipline in athletics. It is tough, very tough and you have to be very well trained physically but also mentally. My best time in Marathon is 2h54" but I was preparing 2h45"... my problem was that I didn't rest properly the week before... I did a half marathosn in 1h 22 minutes as a training the sunday before the marathon and I paid afterwards during the 42Km.
Marathon is another world indeed and every time you run it you can learn a lot of things about yourself.
Keep on running and posting good races!!!

Congratulations @robertprothero! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @robertprothero! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Good pace buddy👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @robertprothero! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!