You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday goes to Newport, Rhode Island

in #marketfriday6 years ago

Hi Denise, I know it is late in the day, but here I am with food from my local market in Bangkok. I am so happy to get this done on a day of poor wifi. Additionally, I am moving to Kuala Lumpur on August 1, so I am a little wistful to post it.

https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@fitinfun/mrt-sutthisan-bangkok-thailand-weekend-market

And your post is showing me a lovely spot I have actually been! I had a trip there for a conference when I was a contractor for the Navy and remember it to be just that beautiful. I did not go out on the water though. I just ate seafood!

Sort:  

My mom was raised in Rhode Island so I have spent a fair amount of time there, but, funny enough, most people forget it is even there. The Navy has their Air/War College there also, that big beautiful building on a little piece of land. It is gorgeous! I had no idea you were a Navy contractor. Is that who you are working for now?

You are moving??!! Oh! Really? I was all but convinced I should go to Bangkok, just to experience it. So many people love it! I am off to check out your post!

I wish I was! I worked at Port Ops in SD as a financial analyst for about 5 years. They civilianized my position in 2008 and I was laid off. After that, I lost the weight and went off on this poorly paying social media and book-writing jaunt.

You will love it here if you visit or come to stay. Bangkok is a wonderful place. I have had 3 trips to Malaysia so far and I and I am so hopeful for this to work out.