Market Friday Goes To Grandad's World Antiques Mall.....

in #marketfriday4 years ago (edited)

I love consignment stores and junk shops. I use to go rambling through one of them at least once a week. It was my therapy, whether I found anything fascinating or not.

At Grandad's world, many people have "booths" where they sell their junk. The place use to be a Kmart Department store, if that in any way lets you imagine how large the place is.

Not everything there is valuable antiques, in fact most of it is not, but a lot of it is a least somewhat old.

This booth was worth a lot of grins. Someone had done a very fine job of making funky lamps from antique parts. Steampunk Lamps ! They were impossible not to love, even if they weren't your decorating style.

nov exit.jpg

Love the hunting horn addition.

nov exit hunting horn.jpg

So imaginative !

nov 2.jpg

A close of up the round gear boxes.

nov 2  gear detail.jpg

Fun.... right?

nov compare.jpg

I'll tell you what wasn't fun.... their prices ! LOL EEEXXXXxxpensive !!... hundreds and hundreds more.

There were several more neat ones, but like below, some were hard to get photos of where they showed up well, because of the busy backgrounds from all the other booths.

nov 3.jpg

An antique airplane lamp. Hadn't seen one quite like it before.

airplane light.jpg

And if none of that was your cup-o-tea, on the other side of the Steampunk Lamp booth were some Bawdy House Lamps....LOL ... ok, ok... Victorian Lamps.... but still....

baudy house lights.jpg

That's it for today.

This is a holiday for me since July 4th is tomorrow and falls on a Saturday, my company gave us today as a holiday to celebrate. Add to this that I took Monday off and I have nice 4 day weekend to look forward too. I'm trying to enjoy every second, because you know how fast long weekends seem to fly by.

Hope you enjoyed the lamps and that you all have a very wondeful day.

I created this post for #marketfriday, hosted by the illustrious @dswigle

Love you .... Mean It !!

Jacey

That's right, I didn't forget my flower ! 😀

flower for post.jpg

Sort:  

This is absolutely fabulous! I think that you know I love quirky little objects. I actually do not buy that many but I'd love to look. Antiquing, in general, is a lot of fun for me and I have noticed that everything is an antique nowadays. And I guess it's true because if it's over 25 years, I think it's considered an antique. I guess that puts me in the category of antique. I'm pretty sure that would Delight my children.

That is good for the old Kmart stores and I have seen a few places where they have put Goodwill in there. It's got the perfect setup, in my opinion. They really don't need to be building new things when they can repurpose old buildings. The Kmart by my parent's house in Florida did the same exact thing with the Antique Mall. I know that they have to be paying big rent because their prices aren't cheap. Additionally, most Northerners that go down to Florida start shedding their furniture and things because they don't quite fit into the Florida landscape. Now I'm getting way off the subject of your wonderful little shop. It is hard to take pictures when they have merchandise on top of merchandise and it's all kind of crazy looking anyway, in a good way. So I understand it from the photography aspect. I'm totally jealous of those Victorian lampshades because they are scarfed up here and it's hard to find a nice one without it costing you your firstborn. So I may have to go down to North Carolina and do some more antiquing because I loved it for that purpose when I lived there. As always you have a unique place to show me and I appreciate you taking the time to drop your link. I also want to say that those are very glorious flowers!

Thank you so much for taking the time to join the challenge! I appreciate the love and support you are giving to #MarketFriday! Without you and people like yourself, I wouldn't be able to have such a successful challenge! I know that at this time, it is harder to find something to fit the challenge. On a good day, it takes a lot of time and effort to be part of, so it means a lot to me that you participate. I hope you know that there is great latitude in what Market means. It can be typical of where you shop for food, or it can be a unique place that you visit. Thank you again for being a part of all this and I hope that you will, indeed, have a great day and week ahead! If you or any of your friends are in doubt about how to participate, this should clear it all up!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

!tip .20

Oh yeah.... when I am looking for vintage, which I do love in some things, like things that fit in with the shabby decor, I see many things that may be 25 or so, but, but.... I'm looking for things before MY time....LOL... so 25 is not vintage to me, or not what I'm looking for when vintage is what I a after. A time or two I have caught myself thinking.. THAT'S not vintage !!!!.... and then I stop and think.... well.... maybe if you are 20something it is. We need some new words for the different categories of old stuff I'm thinking. Unless it was expensive to begin with, things that are no more than 25, don't hold a candle in quality to things that are 50 years old or more. You know I am right about that !

I don't remember the level of pricing on the Victorian lamps, but I was amazed at the great shape the shades were in. You don't see them so nice very often. Depending on how bratty your first born turned out, using them to pay for a nice lamp might be a good deal !!! ha ha

I too am a fan of folks finding a way to use the buildings that are already here. It is some kind of crime to leave so much empty and build more, more, MORE. Not smart in the overall scheme of things.

Hmmmm... Let me think about that. My firstborn is a manchild, so let me go for one of the girls. I have more of them. ;)

I used to think my grandmother was so oooold! This is when I was a kid, but, now, as I creep up there in age, I still think she was old.LOL

I think that the generations of today have aged differently. Perhaps less responsibility? More educated than our grandparents, for the most part, and only in matters of schooling. I think the older generation has us hands down on ingenuity.

Anyway, I digress. I loved those lampshades and yes! They really were in great shape and I only have one like it for the Shore House. It is begging for more!

I hope you are enjoying your day! Happy Fourth of July!

👋 Hi @jacey.boldart, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community

Thank you ! I truly appreciate it. 💙

Great Installations looks like from Golden compass movie

Thank you ! I am not familiar with the Golden Compass movie. I will have to look it up.

It's nice futuristic fantasy with Nicole Kidman and Daniel Craig . Your photos remind me the movie object design 👍

These indoor flea markets are quite the rage across America lately, arent they? It's like a treasure hunt not knowing what you'll find and see when you go inside. And with everything closed the past few months due to the Coronavirus people have had plenty of time to free their homes of unwanted items and there is a huge increase of interesting items being sold.

Personally I need to declutter an DC not buy anything -- with the exception of my weakness: vinyls!🎶💿🎸

Have a fantastic Fourth of July holiday! @jacey.boldart🇺🇲

In our area, they have been around for quite a while, but I believe there were lots of people who thought they would never shop much for second hand things, with the exceptions of real antiques. When the economy crashed, a lot of people began to view it differently or that is what it seams like to me.

I personally have bought several items, furniture mostly that were in extremely good condition, that I would have never been able to have afforded when they were new. Gotta luv that ! I have rarely bought the larger items new for at least 13 years. People get rid of the best treasures !

I laugh at myself, because I try to get rid of as much as I can with one hand, but sometimes bring something back in with the other ! I have my favorite charity though that I pass things along too. They have thrift stores that support really good local rehab programs, so they get the money for what I no longer use and someone else buys it for a deal.... now everybody is happy !

Nothing goes to waste.

Thanks for dropping in !

I really love those steem punk vintagy looking lamps. I always get more ideas for mine!

The are pretty fascinating !

This is something surprising.) It is immediately clear that the author of these things hands grow where necessary.)))

That's right ! Such a great imagination and skill.