#MarketFriday: Garies!!

in #marketfriday2 years ago

#MarketFriday: Garies!!

20220629-104343.jpg

As you know by now, my wife and were on a road trip, we visited this shop on day 5 of our road trip. Garies is a small town in the Northern Province in South Africa, in a very dry part of the country.

We found this nice old shop on the outskirts of the town. The shop basically caters for tourists and sell a large variety of stuff, mostly of ornamental nature!!

20220629-104633.jpg

My wife enjoyed browsing through all the stuff and even bought a few things.

20220629-104638.jpg

20220629-104834.jpg

They also sold some rusks and preserves!!

20220629-105400.jpg

They also had a small coffee shop in the one corner, where I had some coffee, while my wife did her browsing and shopping - this is a good idea for husbands, that don't like all this shopping!!

20220629-105353.jpg

Except for the ground floor, they also had a second hand book department upstairs!!

20220629-113755.jpg
20220629-113814.jpg
20220629-113819.jpg
20220629-113829.jpg
I particularly liked the old magazines, I wonder where they got them??
20220629-113845.jpg

Some of the magazines went as far back as 1951!!

20220629-113908.jpg
20220629-113929.jpg

This was a really nice and interesting stop along the way, where had a nice break from driving, before we hit the road again!!

This is my contribution for #MarketFriday as hosted by @dswigle

I hope you enjoyed the post and that you have a wonderful day.

Sort:  

I love old magazines! I bought them at Estate Sales, where someone is cleaning out their parent's/grandparents house. Some people keep stacks of them! I read them and pass them to another to enjoy. I have bought boxes of odd lots at an auction. They give you big boxes of mostly junk, but, they always have a few golden items. I take the whole box and throw away the rest usually. That is how junky they are! Once I got a whole set of antique sewing notions from the 1920s!!

You never know what you will get!

Did you pick up a couple of magazines? I think they thought they were more valuable than they are! They are so fun to look through though. These are amazing little places that you get to go through. Off the beaten path!! How fun!! Thank you!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:


Rules of the Road to Join #MarketFriday!

  1. Go to the market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service.
    Take pictures! Be creative!
  2. Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost?
  3. Post the picture(s) Of course, you should tell a little bit about the ones you post
  4. Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post #hive-196308 (this is not required, but appreciated)
    5. Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find it
  5. Following me and reblogging the post so more see it would be appreciated !! Not a rule, just appreciated, more vision for more views on your posts!
    **7. You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Thank you so much, yes we found quite a few interesting places and enjoyed our trip a lot, we just feel we did not have enough time, there are such a lot of places we did not even get to!! (And we stay in a relative small country)

1951 magazines? Awesome! They look like collectors item. It's interesting that they survived.

I do like the idea of coffee shop in shops like that. I would rather sip coffee and read one of those magazines lol!

Happy #MarketFriday! Enjoy the rest of your trip.

Yes, I did love the coffee!!

That's good to know :)

Thats a great trip you two are having. I think me and my wife would have enjoy in this place a lot.

Yes, it was a great trip and very nice shop!!

$WINE


Congratulations, @theguruasia You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @rynow.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/4 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.168


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us