You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The 2017 Steem Growth Plan

in #marketing7 years ago

Interesting point, Luke. However, I think steemit doesn´t need to address the "classic" FB user profile at the moment. These users may come when influencers start conquering the platform as an additional channel to monetize their content. But at the moment I don´t think we should try to compete with services that are rather focussing on quantity than quality. The level of interaction is considerably higher on steemit. People that can´t stand the "I like it" superficiality anymore, will find their way to steemit or similar platforms that provide deeper messages.

Sort:  

Maybe I'm just sad about all those on Facebook I've brought over who did create Steemit accounts, posted a few times, and then didn't come back. I'd love to just have conversations with them here. :) Many of them were anarcho-capitalist bitcoin fans as well so they weren't really the classic profile. I've been planning on doing a video for a while to analyze that and figure out why the staying power just wasn't there for them. When I see them in person, they often say things like, "Oh, I'll be back to post soon" or worse, they lost their private keys (!!!) which is just really sad. Thankfully @gandalf (@gtg) was able to help me get one of them reconnected recently. :)

Oh that´s really frustrating :-/ Now I understand...
It would be really interesting to know why the left. I´ve just touched the very same issue in another comment down here. Retaining people is key!

Before thinking about onboarding we might have a retention strategy.
Why would anybody ever stay more than one month on the platform?

Maybe it´s about entertainment, special curation programs, trainings (how-to blog),... Maybe we have to comprehend steemit more as a "place to spend time" instead of a pure content platform. Like building a city, a shopping mall, a theme park or whatever place that is fascinating and engaging. --> SteemWorld :)

There might be infinite ideas how to make steemit even more attractive for new users. It can´t be rewards only since it takes time to build up a brand and really monetize it. We wouldn´t be able to meet strictly economical expectations here.