Never Would Have Thought...

in #martialarts4 years ago

So, my name is Jake Brosnan, and it's been an interesting day. This morning I posed a question to my martial arts buddies on facebook and before I knew it I was signed up on Hive...
My life has taken me in directions that I never would have considered and lead me to people I never thought I'd meet. When I started training in martial arts at 14 years old, I was a chubby nerd who was into improv comedy and making silly videos with my friends, little did I know that 20 years later the most well known martial artists in the world as well as celebrities and fight choreographers that created my favorite movies would know who I am.
Jake Martial Arts Colage.jpg

I've been fortunate enough over the years to be a professional actor, musician, comedian, martial arts coach, writer, director, cinematographer, graphic designer and editor, as well as a husband and father.
Jake acting photo colage.jpg
Jake Music Colage.jpg

I currently work as a content creator and MA coach, though since all this COVID craziness, the content creation has become a bigger focus. The story behind the creation of Martial Media is actually kind of funny... It started with Jeff Imada. I had followed his work from the moment I saw The Bourne Identity in theaters, total fan boy. Any time he worked on a movie I would buy the dvd just to watch the special features and behind the scenes footage. It always seemed like he was in a different world than I was and that meeting him was impossible, but a couple years ago I had an idea. I figured that if I started a martial arts podcast, I just might be able to leapfrog my way around the industry until someone could make an introduction, so I started the Martial Media channel the next day... Oddly enough, almost exactly one year later, my phone rings. When I answer, a voice says "hey, this is Jeff Imada"... I tried so hard not to geek out, but I'm pretty sure I failed. We spoke for probably and hour shooting the shit, talking about movies, training etc. Since then I'll still get a random text at 2am from Jeff about some random thing and it always brings a smile to my face.

My main goal through all of my projects, is to make and do things that I'm proud of and that bring some joy to peoples lives. I hope this new platform provides an opportunity to amplify those efforts.

Stay tuned, it's about to get good!

Sort:  

Glad to help you find your way here! Amazing work I've been a fan. Glad you signed up!

Voted shared and follower!

Highly recommend this account!

Thanks man, I appreciate the reference!

I tried so hard not to geek out, but I'm pretty sure I failed

Laughed pretty hard at that line. I was reading along, enjoying this glimpse at a life so cool it seems to have no connection to me... then BAM! human 😄

Welcome to Hive

Thank you, there's a lot to figure out but I'll keep working on it.

Coolest thing is you are sharing a totally new world here.

And the human connection... Priceless.

Fantastic to have you onboard, Jake.

That fight in the French apartment, with the ball point pen; that was top notch.
Didn't enjoy the second film at all. The cuts were too short and the zoom was turned up to 11. Felt like a two hour seizure; but maybe that's just me getting old.

The whole blockchain thing takes a while to get your head around; but the possibilities are incredible.
Just last night I bought one of 30 copies of this piece, direct from the artist himself, after reading his post

Ownership requires scarcity, and anyone can just copy/paste this image, which makes the idea counter-intuitive; but I didn't buy the pixels.
I bought a token that represents ownership of #8/30 and now I'm the only person who can transfer ownership of that token to somebody else.
Anyone can see that transaction here and nobody can edit or delete it, not even me. (Selling the piece would be posting a new transaction.)
Two hundred years from now, this piece may have changed hands 20 times, but that 20th owner will be able to trace them all back to the artist.

Incredible. No middle-men. No forgery. No friction. No shipping. No waiting.
Anyone can see it in my collection - https://nftshowroom.com/mattclarke/collection - and I'm sure @bryan-imhoff feels the same at his end.

Hey, thanks for the plug @mattclarke, so glad you're enthused about the purchase, and thanks for your comment luring me over to @martial.media here... definitely a blog I'm interested in following!

Welcome to Hive Jake! I hope you enjoy it! If you have any questions or need a hand, don't hesitate to ask. As you can see by the post above... it can be an insanely supportive and enthusiastic community! 😄

Looking forward to seeing more about your work.

Thank you! Glad to be trying something new. I'll keep working on figuring all this out. I appreciate the support.

Welcome Home.

Glad to be here.

Woot! Feel free to bring friends.

Welcome to Hive the best community on the planet!

Thanks!

Man you've done rpetty much everything in life! hehehe! I like your style!
Welcome to Hive, the real home for content creators.
If you need any help I'm here for you bro!

Congratulations @martial.media! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
Loading...