You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Free Math problem solving service

in #math3 years ago

I asked because some people (and calculators) will solve it like this:

4 + 4 / (2/2) + 4
= 8 + 1 + 4
= 9

Because they deal with Parentheses before dividing. Which lets "2(2)" be essentially "2*2" without taking in mind the 4 before them.

My question is a trick question though... You won't find 2(2) in real world problems because people don't have a rule to follow for this, (at least not a rule they teach in the schools I've been in.) People who abstract real life problems with Algebra will try to make their equations as clear as possible.

Sort:  

I personally do not know any person or calculator who will perform 2(2) as 2/2.🤔

I would like to say that every person with at least an above-average knowledge in Math will see that 2(2) is 2 times 2. 🤔🤔

Thanks for your question and your reply! 🙂

Haha! I messed up! I meant to write (2*2) but I think you got what I mean, Haha~