You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The problem with trying to get out of the Matrix

in #matrix5 months ago (edited)

This is beautifully written. I agree with much of it and society's lack of personal ownership meanwhile ignorantly using the system is a moot point. Acting against their own best interest out of whatever the excuse is. The desire to live in a nanny state where life is made as easy as possible is also our addiction to the system. I often find myself challenging others when they complain about the system or matrix but don't seem to have any clear understanding of what that actually means besides it's the new cool thing to say.

Unfortunately, with society's lack of ownership also applies to a lack of morality that would ensue if "the system" was wiped out tomorrow in one fell swoop. most of us are not even close to prepared, Gaza currently is perhaps just a fastracked preview of what it would look like but obviously much slower degradation in counties not at war. The breakdown itself would likely follow the same pattern nonetheless regardless of duration.

The better way and less culturally shocking, would be to collectively agree to revamp it in a more organic and sustainable way. Being here during the steemit war that resulted in Hive was a mini representation of cleaning up a toxic concept to a more fair and balanced level using the same base already familiar with and improving them, but obviously everyone has to be on the same page and self police accordingly to make it work.

Society really lacks that. To be fair, that crypto war still involved probably 5000 strangers that never met each other and it was done. The Hive you enjoy today is the result of a morality war and re-organization in a smaller scale, and it did work, very well I might add. If you weren't around, back in the day. stemmit was pretty messed up. It was like the purge internet edition. Say hi or get upvoted by the wrong person could get your account nuked into nothingness just for being at the wrong place at the wrong time. Glad those days are done. So in theory cleaning up the current cultural infrastructure we are all accustomed to isn't a stretch but a hard task, mountains are big and immoveable but still climbable...All depends if there is enough will to make it happen. Society might not fully see what's wrong but recognizing something IS wrong is the first step.

Sort:  

I actually started writing on Steemit back int the day, but then took a break, and when I came back, Steemit was no more, so I just read about everything in people’s posts. Then I wrote on Hive and then personal things happened, which made me abandon the old account due to the fact that I couldn’t change the name and the posts anymore, but I wanted nothing to do with them. So this is my third attempt to start here from scratch ))

I agree! With this
The better way and less culturally shocking, would be to collectively agree to revamp it in a more organic and sustainable way.

While some darker part of me craves chaos and anarachy, the more reasonable and collected part understands that the pain will be unimaginable. Plus I myself am in no way ready to start doing things from scratch on the streets while keeping my few loved ones alive and safe.

Lol I agree, as much as the matrix concept irritates me, I'm in no way ready to rough it out. Just, there could be some huge improvements made.

Well, I'm in the same boat, I was maybe around longer but like you things happen, my original account got derailed a bit loosing access for one reason or another, had a couple years of not being here and here I am a second attempt. Hang in there.