Sort:  

I will definitely have to do a cherry brew soon. There are soooo many possibilities!

My next two experimentals will be orange cream (cream soda style, so you use vanilla and cream of tartar), and an almond joy (chocolate, coconut, and almond). Soooo many possibilities.

When I saw how red the hibiscus flowers made my latest batch, I was a little nervous. I was afraid the flowers would make it so the yeast wouldn't work. Man, was I wrong! That 6 gallon bottle had a storm brewing inside it within a day. The craziest thing about this is how easy it is. I'm kicking myself for not starting sooner.

It still gets exciting to me when activity is strong, and making new recipes is still fun. I finally started what will be my almond joy recipe (chocolate, almond, and coconut... and I need a better name for it). That airlock is bubbling furiously.

I have ceramic bottles from Dansk branded mead. Any recommendations on how best to prepare them for bottling of my first batch? I was thinking of just sterilizing them in a dish washing machine. Thoughts please?