January 2018 - almost gone forever

in #meditation6 years ago

As my new years resolution (even though I am not completely convinced by the whole notion) I set a goal to meditate every morning. So far it hasn't happened every day. But it has been happening, and has changed my view on life, a bit dramatic I know but I'll get there.

It centres you??
This possibly sounds like bullshit, I know it did to me when I first learned of the benefits; it's not. Focusing on nothing but your breathing really does something. Don't believe me? Do it right now. Close your eyes for 10 seconds and just breathe in... and out... done, completed, finito. You just meditated for a quick sec, 10 to be exact.

It takes you out of whatever you are doing and lets you focus on you, you as in your body + mind as one, how you are currently interacting with the environment around you, the thoughts running through your mind - 'is it sunny outside' 'when will michael pay me' 'i really need to pee'. Those thoughts move away, becoming distant observers of your dark, blank mind.

One of the mornings I had a strange experience - into my mind popped me standing up in front of where the real me was sitting, meditating. The figure of me then turned around and sat down exactly where I was, into me and suddenly my whole body went light. I don't know what kind of freaky spiritual shit that was but I had to open my eyes, I'd be lying if I said I didn't think for a minute that I had been possessed.

I think the real reason I haven't been doing it everyday despite it's wondrous effects, is simply because it takes time. 10 minutes, it doesn't sound like a lot now, but when you're faced with it, it feels like a slog. Then when you're sitting there with your eyes closed and you're thinking 'has it been 2 minutes yet' 'has it been 2 minutes 30 seconds yet' you wonder why you began it in the first place if you're never going to reach enlightenment.

But. When those 10 minutes are up (I'm getting there, not on some hour a day shit) boy oh boy do you feel good. You are ready to face whatever the day flings at you.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @gingerr! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to Steemit @gingerr,
hope you have a greate time here!

I just made to tutorials for a better start here, maybe they'll help you

make your posts get more attention
Get more ot of your Steem/Sbd

Anyways have a greate day, @davsner!

thankyou!