10 day silent Vipassana retreat

in #meditation6 years ago (edited)

When I heard about the 10 day silent Vipassana retreat I knew straight away that it’s something I’d want to do. I thought after a 10 days of silent meditation, surely people come out changed, more tranquil and calmer. So when we found out during our travels through Thailand that Wat Khao Tam monastery (https://www.wat-kow-tham.org/) on #KohPhangan organised retreats like that, my sister and I signed up to do one just before Christmas.
22.jpg
source

There were quite a few rules on their website to agree to before committing. Among others we had to leave our phones, laptops and books behind as these were all distractions. The dress code was strict, just like in any monastery; no shorts or tank tops.

The fact that one of the points was that the retreat was not suitable for anyone with a mental disorder told me this was serious stuff and I hoped I didn’t have a hidden one of those.
We would also have to be silent during the retreat of course, which meant we wouldn’t talk to anyone, except for a few private consultations with the teacher which were to be scheduled in for everyone.
FB_IMG_1518079251833.jpg

Another big one for me was the food. There would only be two meals a day, breakfast at 7am and lunch at 11am. The reason for this was that your body can concentrate on meditation better if it’s not busy digesting. Funnily enough, this was the point I was most afraid of, not the silence or meditating for 8 hours a day.

We told our friends and family that there would be no way to reach us for 10 days. The monastery was on the top of a mountain in the forest and we arrived in the afternoon of registration day. We gave the volunteers our phones and books to store during our stay. The first day we got to know the other participants. They were all travellers, some in their 20s, others in their 60s, everyone really excited, some scared about how they would cope. There were people who never meditated before and I thought it was a bit hardcore to start this way. Others, like us meditated quite regularly, although just a few minutes a day. We were directed to a building called a dormitory, where we all got assigned a room, two people sharing one. In each room there was a bunk bed with a mattress and nothing else. The bathrooms and toilets were shared Thai style in a separate building near the dorms.
FB_IMG_1518079146018.jpg

Silence started with the first meditation at 5pm that day. Each meditation cycle lasted 60 minutes, then there was a break. I’d never meditated for 60 minutes before, and I didn’t manage it then either. But the point is to try and sit there quietly. It was Vipassana meditation, which meant concentrating on the breath, saying ‘in, out, sitting’ inside our heads. We were to observe our surroundings, accept everything as it was and just sit. I managed to do that for a few minutes at a time and then my mind went off wondering…then I went back to meditation again. I kept doing this for the whole hour.
7.jpg
source

The daily schedule was strict. The wake up bell sounded at 4:00am and the first sitting meditation was at 4:30am. After an hour there was chanting in Sanskrit. I didn’t know what we were singing but it was very calming so I enjoyed it. Next there was an hour of meditation again before we went for breakfast. All the food was vegetarian and very tasty, although I didn’t want to see another coconut milk curry after the retreat for a while. We were all assigned chores, which we did after breakfast. I was to sweep the yard and one of the halls, someone else did the dishes, cleaned the bathrooms and so on. Of course we had to do all this silently. The rest of the day consisted of meditation (walking and sitting), chanting and Dhamma teachings. During walking meditation we walked around the yard very slowly, concentrating on lifting each foot, putting down the heel first and then the sole. Sometimes I looked around and I thought we looked like zombies. That made me smile. During the Dhamma teachings we learned about Buddha and meditation.

My sister and I managed not to talk the whole time, the only time I said something was when she was snoring so loud at night, I even heard her through my earplugs. I said to her ‘Stop snoring!’.
Surprisingly hunger wasn’t really an issue, lunch was quite filling and 2 meals were enough as I didn’t burn too many calories sitting most of the time. Meditating 8 hours daily was not an easy task. Sometimes I felt quite successful, other times less so. When I felt I couldn’t concentrate, I went to the bathroom and sat in there for a few minutes, or I 100 squats in there when I needed to move. Not everyone made it to the end. Some participants, including one of the girls who never meditated before left after a few days as they couldn’t cope.

There was a lookout with a beautiful view where we could sit and meditate during breaks. One day I sat there on my own, just taking in the view of the sea, when suddenly a wave of gratitude hit me. I felt so thankful for being where I was, to be alive and in the present moment that I started crying. Everything became more colourful, the trees were greener and the sea bluer, it was like I couldn’t see clearly what was around me before that. Tears were coming out of my eyes and I kept smiling. From then meditating went a lot smoother and I felt happier. I still couldn’t concentrate for full 60 minutes but I accepted where I was and I was content.
Screenshot_20180212-155952__01.jpg

At the end of our silence we had a final meet with the teacher. He said some people might have had a revelation, but to some it may only come later. He asked people to share these if they had one and I told them about sitting at the lookout and how I felt. There was a Hungarian couple who just got married recently and the girl told us about her experience. She was sitting at the lookout with her husband and she knew something was different about him. She knew he had a revelation and she was afraid that now he’d want to become a monk and stay in Thailand without her. He wasn’t allowed to touch her but as saw that she was in distress he pointed at his wedding ring, telling her without words that he still loved her. That’s when she felt a big wave of relief and thankfulness.

An older lady told us that during one of the sitting meditations she fell on her head with a big bang. When no one moved to check if she was ok, she became angry, thinking that people didn’t care about her. Then she realized she was ok, and she kept meditating. When the others said they didn’t hear her fall, that someone would have jumped up to check if she’s ok, she realized that maybe she didn’t fall at all, maybe it was all in her mind.

We left the monastery that afternoon and I can tell you it was a shock to return to the real world. It was like I was seeing it for the first time. The streets seemed very busy and loud, there was so much stuff around me that people were trying to sell me but I had no interest in buying anything because I had everything I needed. This tranquillity stayed with me for a few days but as I got used to the real world again it left me. In some ways I remained changed forever, I’ve felt a deeper presence inside me sever since.
FB_IMG_1518079217380.jpg

We actually went back to the monastery after a few days for the next retreat, but this time as volunteers. We helped out in the kitchen, cleaned and prepared some of the foods. We slept in the dorms and got free food but we were allowed to go down to the village during the day outside of meal times and sometimes we went for a swim.
FB_IMG_1518079171523.jpg

We helped the participants in every way we could, of course we couldn’t talk to them but we always smiled. After this retreat some of the people thanked us for being such good helpers and said we made their time there smoother. That’s when I was the happiest, it was so rewarding to hear that.

Sort:  

hey this is really eye opening. Thank you for sharing @peterveronika. Iv always been meaning to do this. I always wondered why we cannot have a blank book with us to write down our thoughts like a journal but i guess the point is to accept and be ok with having nothing on us and enjoying our breath and body and the world around us. I try to do meditation daily but its hard to focus for a long time. Have u been meditating regularly since you left? what is your meditation practice like since you left? Thanks again for your contribution :)

That is great to hear :)
I have been meditating but not that regularly, my practice is the same as I learned at the monastery, just observe your breath and say 'in, out, sitting'.
I've not reached the same level of clarity again since but I'd like to do another retreat sometime.

Thank you. I will definitely be following your progress :)

I dont think I would be able to do something like this. I am too active and need mooving. And just sitting for hours not talking, not doing anything....think it would be very hard for me. Amazing girls you are

Maybe that's exactly why something like this would be useful for you. I like to be active too but sometimes it's good to concentrate on what's going on on the inside

wow! thats really interesting @peterveronika ! I'd love to try it....not sure if i am mentally prepared though...10 days is too much...must have been such an experience!!!

It was awesome! It's definitely easier if you meditate a little before the retreat starts, just a few minutes a day to prepare your mind a little, but the most important is determination in my opinion :)

There is a similar vipassana in India too.
There are many places in Mumbai (Bombay) city.
If anyone visits India, then just a info that you can avail the 10 day silent vipassana retreat here too :)

That's great to know, I will want to do another one sometime again for sure. Have you ever done one there?

Unfortunately, I haven't experienced it yet.
But my mom and dad went for it.
They described me almost similar experience :)
You might wanna visit below website for details :
https://www.dhamma.org/en-US/index

That's amazing that they both went. Thanks for the link, I will check it out! The Goenka 'style' meditation retreat is even stricter than the one I went to

Wow 10days. You must have had quite an experience there. Hats off. I have always wondered how difficult jt must be. You have made it sound like a superb experience.

Thank you! It was difficult but at the end of the day it was more than worth it. If you meditate regularly you'd be able to do it for sure :)

Thanks for sharing your wonderful steps in life . I really enjoyed reading it!

This was for sure a unique experience!! cheers @peterveronika

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

RESTEEMBOT IS FOR SALE
I COULD WRITE CODE FOR YOU

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @peterveronika.

This post has received a 3.49 % upvote from @morwhale thanks to: @peterveronika.

I do vipassana here in Venezuela :) metta for you @peterveronika

Nice! Metta to you too :)

Thank you for using F-RESTEEM service and your support.
Your post is resteemed and upvoted for your 0.100 sbd or steem.
Introduction of F-RESTEEM service.
Resteem+Upvote service : F-RESTEEM. Come again and support me.


Delegate Steem Power (SP) to @fresteem by clicking one of the following links: 500 SP, 1000 SP, 2000 SP, 5000 SP or any. Then you will get the 50% earning for your Steem Power.

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

This Post has Resteemd by Steemit Viral and also shared on Social Media Good Luck !

New_Intro.gif

This post is Powered by @superbot all the way from Planet Super Earth.

Follow @superbot First and then Transfer 0.100 STEEM/STEEM DOLLAR to @superbot & the URL in the
memo that you want Resteemed + get Upvoted & Followed By @superbot and 1 Partner Account.

Your post will Appear in the feed of 1100+ Followers :)

So don't waste any time ! Get More Followers and gain more Visibility With @superbot

#Note - Please don't send amount less than 0.100 Steem/Steem Dollar ,Also a post can only be resteemed once.

Thank you for using @superbot

If you would like to support this bot , Please don't forget to upvote this post :)
Stay Super !

New_Intro2.gif

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 14.56% Upvote

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment