You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: As Medium Slashes Operations, I Sent Ev Williams A Message About Steem on Medium

in #medium7 years ago (edited)

Hello @stellabelle. Sorry for this unrelated comment. I know a yours story of someone named Leah Stephens sharing about her experience with Steemit. Here's the link.

I'd like to ask for confirmation if this is you. 'Cos it says here that she's an author of the book that you put on your signature. If it's not you then you should be aware about this impostor who I think is making (?) Steemit and you look bad or wrong without much consideration.

Before I joined Steemit, I got into Yours. I knew about Yours first, after I found it in a Forbes contributor article from googling the word "blockchain" for the first time. Further searches about Yours led me to that article, and despite me not having any idea about Steemit, its message led me to neglect Steemit's existence and focus on planning for what's to come in Yours instead.

Based from that experience, maybe we could tell that that story is a barrier to anyone who only knows Bitcoin (or Yours) but would actually prefer Steem (Steemit) much more when they discover it. Perhaps that issue must be addressed.

Thanks.

Sort:  

That is me. If you noticed my comment on the article, here it is: I’m continuing to contribute to Steemit despite its imperfections. With time and constant improvements by the developers I’m cautiously optimistic about its future. The recent hardfork also could help redistribute power so I’m curious how things will play out in the next three months.
Next gen social media is not about choosing an exclusive platform. It’s about trying them all and learning good lessons along the way. Steemit has had massive growing pains and I hope it is successful just like I hope Yours is successful. There’s plenty of room for both to coexist.

Ah. I see.
Yes, they could coexist much like other different social media platforms (i.e. FB, Twitter, Reddit, etc.).
Let's all continue to hope for the best and lift the spirits of one another to get this going and growing. Thanks for your response. :)

Yours and Steemit are entirely different models, so I doubt they will be competitors. Yours relies on a tipping model, Steemit does not. In this respect, they are not similar. You might also check out another one busy.org which is more like sharing videos, tweets, shorter content. It uses Steem also.

I am open about my criticism of Steemit. It is not a perfect platform and the problems of centralized power are still plaguing it. We are guinea pigs on here, and so the developers change the structure based on how problems crop up and then are resolved. I'm actively researching and participating in many different decentralized social media platforms as I think it is the future. I am not a religious person, and I see no reason why I cannot contribute meaningful critiques to all of them. I am a blogger/creator/artist and I'm looking for a solution to the re-imagining of the blogging/artist model, which means being a part of a community that values individual's contributions. Steemit is doing that for me so far.
I don't believe in candy-coating the truth. That article accurately reflected my feelings at the time. A lot has changed since then. However, I still feel that the centralized nature of how the trending page operates is defective. It simply is not working well, and is not conducive to new user retention.

Many people don't understand how I can be critical of a platform and then remain there. I have invested 7 months of my existence into this platform, and I do want it to succeed. The responsiveness from the devs on issues that continually crop up is the reason i stay. A few weeks ago, this community was divided on how to handle NSFW posts. That issue has been resolved with both sides happy. This is a cause for a real celebration. I was part of the reason that the issue was dealt with. Problems need to be discussed, and resolved. That's how the world moves forward.

Yup, and criticisms are vital too specially for platforms that have the potential to become the next big thing.