WWJD? - Mega Churches fail us during Hurricane Harvey

Remember those bracelets?


Well during Hurricane Harvey we have found that Houston's largest churches are closed. Houston's smallest churches have opened up their doors to shelter people. My question to these mega churches and their followers... WWJCD?

ACCEPT NO SUBSTITUTES

 Animation by the one and only @xtrodinarypilot

STEEM ON & I WILL TAKE YOU PLACES

...mostly in Texas LOL 


Sort:  

You are not wrong and if anyone says you are they have their priorities messed up.

Girl, you just made my day.

Dude, it's been 3 days for me and I'm STILL laughing!

  1. Joel Osteen is no man of God.
  2. Joel Osteen does not preach the word of God.
  3. Joel Osteen's church is not the house of God.

He and other preachers like Creflo Dollar, Joyce Meyer, Jesse Duplantis, TD Jakes and John Hagee are nothing more than pseudo-gospel peddling pimps with a Sunday morning Social Club.

Do you want to know the true message of Jesus? The true message of Jesus was repent for the Kingdom of Heaven is at hand, Matthew 4:17.
Repent is a foreign word in our culture, repent means to turn away from, to go away from. To go away from what? From sin. What is sin? 1 John 3:4.

What would Jesus do? Jesus will be obedient to God's law. Want to know what God's law is? All you need to do is read Genesis through Deuteronomy, it's all contained right there.

The fake Joel Osteen He denies Christ in thought word and deed. The others probably too. Maybe they need to read and apply the scriptures. Thanks for sharing and glad to see that the family is safe.

Glad I could share my thoughts in confidence on steemit. We are definately thankful to be safe and have thr ability to help out.

Churches have no obligation to offer disaster relief. Once a church gets relatively large, they focus more on obtaining profit and publicity over Christian traditions. If mega churches do decide to help, it would only be because they are benefiting in some way. I feel these days people put way to much faith in church institutions. People need to remember that churches are business. They make money based on their amount of followers.

The purpose of this post is to point out everything you just said and promote self-reflection. Clearly you are enlightened.

Is that sarcasm? I was not try to be rude, just sharing a thought. To be honest I'm a bad curator, didn't even watch the video. Not really sure why I commented at all, oh well:)

That was not sarcasm.

Now you are really being sarcastic ;)

This post was very informative thank you for sharing
you have my upvote
Keep smiling, reading, writing and voting!!!
@mannyfig1956

Nice...
Please vote my post...

my thoughts are with you in Texas, where I was born. You, like many of us, will always remember the ones that do for you, and not those who that say they will. You have good people there that will do everything they can, just as a Texan should.

Spoken like a true Texan lol. In the words of my wife, "we got this"

I know you do, as you should. Sounds like a great wife, my friend. Wishing you the best, since i will be out of the country for about 2 weeks, with limited internet. Will be in Canada on a cruise.

This is the time for them to show compassion!! Can't believe they have the audacity to not let people into the house of god!! Government should interveen!!

I'm certain some of their "members" will wake up after this.

Really i don t understand why all this ignorance??...

Neither do I. Its quite possible we will never understand.

Very Nice Post sir; Voted and followed you. I want to learn from your experience on steemit.com. So kindly see my posts and vote me and follow me. As we can see our future posts. Thank you @xtrodinarypilot

Preach!

Mannn, I was trying not to, but it gets frustrating.

Awesome look & good post

When I see the "American"-christians, my heart bleeds. Here in Europe I see most christians are giving this whole charade up. Don't misunderstand me, anyone can believe in what and who he wants for me. But damn, when I see al those Bible-quoters and "God will set you free"-preachers, I almost have to puke. Because the institution of the churches, the business, like @dwells showed, is just interested in peoples money, nothing less, nothing more! And that is just horrible.
Amen

Yeah they sure are like businesses these days.

I am so disillusioned and frustrated with mega churches. I live in a third world country and I can't even begin to tell you what they do here. They preach "do as I say but not as I do." In my little pea brain, Humans are supposed to look out for one another. Apparently, the megas forgot what it was like to be small and poor. They should be obliged to help those in need, not just collect when times are tough.

I know, I've seen how they prey on the spiritually vulnerable. It's heartbreaking.

For the record, our church has been open this whole time...you just need to fly to San Diego. Just sayin.

I might fly in, just to get some Paragliding. Piloting and flying takes my mind off of everything on the ground.

The closest airport to me is Montgomery Field. https://goo.gl/maps/vEzgzfvDpJw
Text me when you plan on coming in a couple weeks ahead of time and I can pick you up. You would need about 5 days to get your P2 over here at Torrey Pines Gliderport. You can call them for the price of training. With your background in aviation you will more than likely only need 3 days. And I bet you will be flying solo after the first day. https://goo.gl/maps/aNUvCmu1RHN2
The number for them is
(858) 452-9858

So today on Facebook when I was checking messages I noticed a post where someone shared Joel Olsteen asking for donations to help the hurricane victims. He was being trolled hard over it. I was like nope I will just donate in others ways

yeah my wife showed that to me. City of Houston held a press conference and offered the floor to a representative of Second Baptist Church who assured us that they were working hard behind the scenes. Ha, I turned the tv off after that.

I have always been against mega churches, and recent events in my hometown Houston just strengthens my view on them. Thanks for posting.

Whaaaaa, you're in Houston?

Pearland to be more precise.... :)

I'll be in Pearland and Lake Jackson tomorrow. Let's steemit bro lol

if you're all ears, try this website, http://www.lesfeldick.org, which will give answers to your question WWJD, on 82 different 1/2 hour audiotapes. in my humble opinion it will change your life if you give it a try. god bless.

Just now seeing this, thanks for the link. Will check out.