Sort:  

So, I power up some power to give people more power? I'll get it one day

That’s one of the most powerful explanations I’ve seen

Truly enlightening

That's my meme explaining steem to family and friends!!

steemy.gif

LOL thanks for the funny share :)

That about wraps it up. Gotta love memes.

I just say "It's like reddit on the blockchain" because I usually don't have all day to get technical with them lol.

Not easy when almost no one i know here uses reddit!

My Explanation usually like:

Me: "yeah basically it's kinda like Facebook except it uses this technology that's similar to Bitcoin kind of, and you get paid for posting and liking posts"

Them: wait so where does the money come from?

Me: 😬

Haha, MARKET FORCES!

Lol I love this. It's me IRL

this is just the most accurate explanation ever! i gave up explaining it for the outsiders, they are too blinded by the likes and too busy checking other peoples bullshit lifes live on FB... yes there is life beyond FB! Steemit, my people!! i just love this conection in here!

Haha i was writing a post about the dangers of infinite likes and echo boxes, I think you worded it pretty well. Wouldn't say bullshit though lol

If the person knows what is blockchain , it is easier. If not , i compare blockchain to gold and if that does not work , i compare it to World of Warcraft :)) most of my friends get the last explanation :))

Oh i thought mmorpg has always been most apt... but most of my friends don't get that lol..

It took me a while to get the gist of it but I think I finally understand it well enough. It is difficult explaining things like Steem Power to people but just tell them it's a website you can get paid for posting blogs and that should be enough to at least get them started.

The same thing happened with me regarding Bitcoin. When I first started, I didn't know much about it. The knowledge of how it works clicks over time as you keep asking yourself new questions. I don't think you can understand it all with one explanation.

Lol got that right @kenanqhd :) just have to experience it for oneself!

People will learn by doing and then it will just become second nature and I'm sure once it becomes popular, a lot of people will do tutorials about it.

I think the biggest mistake new users always do is vote on the already popular stuff!

Why is voting on the popular stuff a mistake?

Nobody'll add much more to the already popular posts. The incentive is to vote on stuff before it gets popular = higher curation rewards.

Yes but usually their upvote power is negligible and they learn how upvotes works by the time they start earning or investing

Even more confusing to explain when SBD( Steem Dollars) are trading at a premium in the market. .

Wait, what?? I thought those were supposed to be worth a $1?? :) :)

As usual, the free floating peg assumes that traders know what they're doing..

Yep, I did a post to make sure people weren’t using the convert feature as they would be burning up money for no reason. Hopefully it saved a few Steemians a buck or two. Diggin’ your evil twin. . :)

Ah convert is never that nice a function. 3.5 days averaging on a volatile market.. my as well just trade directly.. haha thanks, working on my evil side!

Hehe 😂 yea sometimes when I try to explain Steemit and Steem it looks like people want to slap me. I guess they don't get Steemianese

Hahahahaha!

If a newbie still can't understand what steem and steem power and SBD means after this rigorous explanation you have given, i think it is time for them to end their journey on steemit.

Some prefer buying Bitcoin in coinbase and just do nothing while expecting the price to go up..

I convinced a friend today to open a Steemit account. A tricky act when trying to explain what this is about. You have to choose the right words, not oversell it. ☺

Just use it for one month every night before sleep. That would be the easiest i think..

I just started today. Trying to get the hang of it. lol

Ahahah, I liked this enough that I up-voted it even though my steem power is less than 9%. I'm not really sure what that means anyway, I'm just having fun. Is it like game over when you get to 0%? But I liked it from the newbie perspective, it still sounds like blah blah a little.

Where are you seeing the 9%? Lol. Best way to curate (and earn out of it) is to vote on stuff before it gets popular

I stopped explaining when it started to make no sense to me either.
I just call Steemit the Blogchain.

The site is very nice steemit I'm off Facebook

If only for the fact that things are in chronological order

This was the shortest and funnyest explanation of STEEM ecosistem I've ever seen!

Can someone tell for the 1000th time what is steem :D

Between, this is a good a good concise explanation.

I would also refer to @kevinwong's post where he explains why one should accumulate steam power is a very powerful post, I would advice any newbie (including myself) to this post -
https://steemit.com/steem/@kevinwong/why-should-you-consider-accumulating-steem-power

I would also advice someone to read this post by @aggroed as well which explains steamit like teaching a 5 year old -
https://steemit.com/steem/@aggroed/i-m-new-here-can-you-explain-steemit-to-me-like-i-m-5

Kudos to @kevinwong and @aggroed

Hey thanks @getfit :)

That is smart and funny, though I probably don't quite get it...

Nice post about steemit

Easy to grasps explanations, the message has been passed across

Hahaha so funny
Like your post brother

Hahaha so funny
Like your post brother

I will just say its like BRIM , you don't have to know how the money comes as long it is real...haha

Congratulations @etherpunk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I was leave from social medias when I logged in to steemit.

Woohoo!!!!! keep going with steem blockchain & get more SBD.....Lol......

Perhaps not NEO but Neo :-)

Enjoyed reading it ..:)

I just started steemit today lol. So thank you for the info.

haahh sometime so hard to explain things

Congratulations @etherpunk, this post is the tenth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2569 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3560.48. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

And, as with all types of power, with Steem comes great responsibility :)

Thanks, for this edu-taining post, @etherpunk. Have a good weekend & I hope you might enjoy the new piece of fiction I posted last night, in some strange mood...

Can SBD be converted to steem power, like powering up?

You need to buy/sell SBD in the internal market via wallet. Need to have Steem to power up to Steem power

@etherpunk, Still trying to explain it to myself sometimes is pretty hard haha! Good post

I'm on vacations, I'm not supposed to use my brain like this right now :C

Sometimes I feel like I know what I am doing and then Steemit comes along..