You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where We Were Grown-Ups (#MemoirMonday)

I can't imagine how exciting it was for you when this first opened! As you get older you'll notice a lot of the places you made the memories of your youth in will either vanish or change beyond recognition. This is when the memories of them become so important, not so much for the place itself but more so the experiences. I've been away from my hometown, Columbus, Ohio for almost thirty years now and there are only a few places that look the same or hold the same appeal. Thanks for taking part in Memoir Monday @honeydue! Some of the questions will become much more substantive as we go.

Sort:  

I'm sure you're right. I wonder though if they would hold the same weight for me, even if they somehow managed to stay exactly the same through the decades, you know? I mean even this place, to be fair, I stopped going as much as I grew older, had more autonomy, and they opened up cooler places etc. You know? I think in a way, some of these places become memories before they're memories.

Thanks, Eric. This was really fun!! Looking forward to next week!

Maybe it would be different in your case but given enough time everything will probably change. You're welcome! There's a huge variety in the upcoming prompts so this should get more fun as we go along. I really appreciate you taking part in this.