Getting over my fear of dogs (childhood memories)

in #memories4 years ago (edited)

(I was answering as a comment at first, but then decided to make a post of this. The pictures are taken from Wikipedia for obvious reasons.)

Vivid memories incoming... 😅

Yes getting bitten can really make you scared of dogs.

When I was 4 or 5 years old, I got bitten by a Dachshund. Made me scared of dogs for a long time.

But then I met a runaway Schäferhund (German Shepherd) in a forest when I was maybe between 10 to 12 years of age. It was right in front of me, just staring at me. I had no idea where it had came from, it just appeared out of nowhere.

I was scared, too scared to call my friends, and I also thought they might startle it and make it attack.

But I was also quite certain that dogs would follow sticks if I threw them. (I don't know where that idea came to me though.) So I picked up a stick and threw it into the forest, thinking I could flee while the dog was going after it.

I thought wrong. As I was about to leave, the Schäffer was in front of me again, stick in his mouth. And then it dropped the stick, right in front of my feet.

I picked up the stick again, throw it away, and sure as day the dog was back with the stick in his mouth, this time wagging his tail, and again dropping the stick in front of me.

After throwing the stick for the third or fourth time I was beginning to think this wasn't an angry dog after all. So I gave a shout to my friend, and when he came, we took the dog to his home, and his parents called the animal shelter to take the dog away.

It didn't have a tag collar, but it had a tattoo in his ear so we thought it might be a work dog, maybe it was in training to become a police work, or a guard dog.

Anyway, that's my short story of the fear of dogs that kind of went away when I was forced face-to-face with at first quite scary looking dog, that turned out to be very happy and kind dog.

I sometimes wonder what happened to it though.

That concludes my short memoir of getting rid of fear for dogs.


One of worlds kindest dogs, Ninnu says goodnight to everyone.

Sort:  

Fear about dog in childhood is common matter and it won't exist anymore after getting old at your age, but it may remid you while it burking too loudly!!

That just help in eradicating my fear for dogs

Very lovely Ninnu. She needs a hair trim! I couldn’t see her eyes! LoL

Congratulations @gamer00! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4750 replies. Your next target is to reach 5000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update