My childhood memory: Universiade 1987

in #memories6 years ago (edited)

univerzijada.jpg
source

31 year ago, when I was six years old, Summer Universiade 1987 was held in Zagreb. It was a really big event for all the citizens, but especially for the city's infrastructure. Before the event, a lot of buildings didn't even exist, and a lot of sports complex were screaming for redecoration.

The preparations lasted for two years, nine halls were built, three swimming pools, a large sports hall (Dom sportova), Cibona's Tower (basketball center) and Maksimir stadium as well... The so-called sports complex at Šalata was renovated and many facades on the buildings were redecorated.

stadion.jpg
source

Although I don't remember a lot from my childhood, I remember that time very clearly. We lived in a part of Zagreb called Jarun. It was a part where all took place. For as I remember before the event everything was different than after the 'intervention' and investment in infrastructure. Very near our house an artificial lake was build and everyone were taking care of every detail.
Jarun became maybe the most beautiful and wanted part of the city.

jarun prije.jpg
source

jarun_jezeroo.jpg
source

The games I don't remember but a crowdedness I sure do. People from all around the world all of a sudden came to my child world. We had a few rowers from the USA in our apartment, and where ever you went, you could have seen a different people and hear different languages. Even now when I visit some cities like London or Paris, somehow their crowded streets reminded me of that time.

ljudi.jpg

natjecatelji.jpg
source

The mascot of Universiade was a squirrel, his name is Zagi, and he was my best friend for many years. Wherever I go he went with me. I still have that squirrel somewhere in the basement. (This post reminded me maybe I should take him out, for my kids of course :))

Zagi.jpg
source

For me, this Universiade didn't leave just nice memories, but it left for our and many more generations the special city spirit till this day.

Sort:  

happy childhood 😁
periods that should not be repeated again @rita0404.